Poets logo

Dear K Hughes....

An Ode to a Mix-up

By Judey Kalchik Published about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 2 min read
15
https://pixabay.com/users/socialbutterflymmg-5413276/

Dear K Hughes.

I apologize for not noticing I received your lunch in my Panera's to-go bag.

You see, I used the new order kiosk for the first time.

I was lured by the email telling me I have $5.00 added to my card when the kiosk is used.

I didn't realize that it was for a delivery order only.

So I was a bit nonplussed when I went to pick up my order.

I did notice the bag looked a bit big, but- hey.

A half citrus kale salad and low carb tomato mozzarella sandwich needs room to breathe, right?

Anywho- I asked "Is this mine?"

And when told yes

- went on my way with my healthy lunch.

~Not~.

Darling K. Hughes: you are an indulgent minx, aren't you?

I got to work and unpacked an ecstasy of of silky carbs.

Macaroni and cheese-y yumminess.

Two small cubes of chocolate sin in a teeny box.

A focaccia disc tightly wrapped in cling film.

My new best friend K Hughes,

I called Panera to tell them of the mistake and also praise them for the cheese-to-pasta ratio in their lunchtime delight.

I fervently hope you enjoy my virtuous lunch as much as I did the mac and chee.

It has now settled cozily on my hips and thighs,

nestled next to the Sunday waffles I explained away...

The rest stays sealed where it can do no harm.

Enjoy the kale, K.

Sorry.

(Not Sorry.)

Sincerely, J

-------------------------------------------------------------

Life can bring you poetry every day. I hope you take a moment to enjoy one or more of my other short poems.

You have so MUCH power as a reader! Did you know all of the ways you can interact with what you read on Vocal?

Leave 'hearts' and 'comments' on posts you enjoy. This one, for instance!

Subscribe to the writers that write the stuff you like.

Leave a Tip for an article that you enjoyed and/or opened your eyes to something new.

Share the stuff you like on your own social media and you will delight a writer for days!

performance poetry
15

About the Creator

Judey Kalchik

It's my time to find and use my voice.

Poetry, short stories, memories, and a lot of things I think and wish I'd known a long time ago.

You can also find me on Medium

And please follow me on Threads, too!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    😆✨❤️😉

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Too funny! The food gods knew exactly what you both needed that day. Who can argue? 😂🥰

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    This had me giggling and was so well done, Judy! Sometimes life just sends you a little cheesy miracle to say, have a better day!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    What a sweet way to say sorry ❤️🥰

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Fabulous! I love the way you described the mac 'n cheese and that you made this experience into such a lovely, lighthearted piece. Great work :) And yay for carbs, lol.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    hahaha. Oh, what a wonderful mistake. Love it.

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Oh this was a goody. You never ordered it therefore it is a guilt free lunch. I hope to see this in the Top story

  • I read this eating my lunch of reheated chilli and bits, glad you enjoyed yours even though it was not what you expected

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Panera Bread is the best! I do try to get the healthy choices but I love their Mac n cheese. I would keep the Mac too. ❤️ Hopefully they helped R Hughes out. Great little story ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.