Poets logo

Dear Journal

Pages upon pages

By SharikaPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Like

Dear journal

Hello again

To my life long friend

The one who’s always there

When the chaos ends

Dear journal

The one I hold close

And tell all my secrets

Of who I love the most

Dear journal

The pages that held my tears

That laid with me as I wept

And offered spaces to write down my fears

Dear journal

In your pages I hide

What’s really going on

When I’m breaking inside

Dear journal

I wish you were real

So you could come to life

And hold me near

Dear journal

Thank you for setting me free

While catching me when I fall

And letting me be me

Dear journal

I will never get too old

To tell you all my hopes

Or just how my day goes

Dear journal

You are my best friend

You were there through my childhood

And when my relationships would end

Dear journal

What a life we’ve had

From make ups to break up

The good and the bad

Dear journal

Today I dare to fly

To expand on my dreams

And hold my head up high

Dear journal

This is your last page

Thanks for your silence

It helped me chase my darkness away.

Ode
Like

About the Creator

Sharika

I love writing, creating something out of nothing, the world is a canvas. Musically anything goes. I was the girl in high school in the corner with ear buds and notepad. Now I’m the women who dances to her own drum barefoot on shore.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.