Poets logo

Dear, John..

A letter from the mortician

By Salomé SaffiriPublished about a year ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
4
Dear, John..
Photo by Wallace Bentt on Unsplash

Dear John,

You look misplaced,

Here, on the metal table.

Disheveled beard, jowls stiff.

I'm glad I didn't know you

Before your accident,

It would have been demanding

To overlook your bruises.

But now I see them,

As part of you,

As if you bore them

All your life.

Dear John, you're no one's.

No one came to claim you,

And Even though you're tall

And fairly handsome

Nobody's filling out the forms

Your leather jacket came with you.

It looks a little better

than you will ever look now.

I could've been your Mrs. Doe.

A happy couple. I'm also no one's.

I also love the bikes,

the speed, the venture.

I could've

sat behind you, on the stretch

from Omaha to Denver;

And hug you tight, so neither of us,

Would feel alone

Becoming one with pavement.

Dear John..

What life we could have had.

Sincerely,

Your Never Missus.

heartbreak
4

About the Creator

Salomé Saffiri

Writing - is my purpose. I feel elated when my thoughts assume shapes, and turn into Timberwolves, running through the snowbound planes of fresh paper, leaving the black ink of their paw prints behind.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 4 months ago

    I love it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.