Poets logo

Dear Jane

—Jane Eyre tribute letters

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
5
Dear Jane
Photo by Álvaro Serrano on Unsplash

Dear Jane,

It must be wishful thinking that I had a dream of you last night in which you had come to visit me and were staying at my estate. My wife was begrudgingly accepting of this, yet still, you stayed. As you helped us put new brought in china dinnerware away, I realized they were all cracked and broken.

I am sure this is not meaning much but still I found it interesting and I felt the overall sense of happiness when you were with me, in the dream. Anyway, I feel a absolute fool to mention it. I am not sure if you read any of my letters or works anymore. That saddens me, but that is how life works I suppose, and it hurts nonetheless.

I’ve been feeling very ill and having massive pains in my head, finishing many important things that I have recently published that you helped me create by your inspiration and insight, which is recent—-but still, I am very much aware that you are emotionally exhausted of this back and forth. I am feeling quite fatigued as well, and sad, but strangely hopeful.

Still, I can’t stop thinking of you, even in my dreams you visit me. I’m trying to just move on, I really am, but I am actually a very romantic and affectionate man. I more than welcome the idea of forever having you, in marriage, and in loving bond. Though, knowing you may not read this, it’s hard to know if this makes a difference.

Anyway, I hope you are doing well and creating your art. I hope you’re creating and dreaming big and being safe and happy.

Love, Edward

sad poetry
5

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • junaid mughalabout a year ago

    👍

  • Nice letter ✨💕

  • Lovely words sis

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.