Poets logo

Dear Inner Child

I'm sorry for how I've been.

By Thavien YliasterPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
6
Dear Inner Child
Photo by Aditya Romansa on Unsplash

Dear Inner Child,

Hi there, how've you been? It's been so long since we've talked, I don't know where to begin.

|

Dear Inner Child,

I hope that you are near. I'll do more than just be present, I'll make sure that I'm here.

|

Dear Inner Child,

Isn't it strange, after all these years? Even though we've grown up strong we still have the same fears.

||

Dear Grown-Up Version,

I'm starting to feel well, but with the pain I have inside I'm still at times in hell.

|

Dear Grown-Up Version,

Would you please hold my hand? I've been through your mental landscape, and all throughout the land.

|

Dear Grown-Up Version,

We're still terrified. Through all the trauma, made-up drama, we're still mortified.

||

Dear Younger Me,

We must let go of our pain. We've avoided harm and suffering, but those are not the same.

|

Dear Younger Me,

Life goes on till no end. You and I are stronger now, ourselves we can defend.

||

Dear Stronger Us,

Do you still think I am weak? I remember once you told me so, those hateful words you did speak.

|

Dear Stronger Us,

Am I someone you hate? I remember you discarded me, believing I controlled your fate.

||

Dear Little Me,

I admit those faults are of my own. I never knew the power and strength we had when we were little and since we've grown.

||

Dear Bigger Me,

Please hold me by your side. I want to journey with you as we grow in lengths and strides.

||

Dear Inner Child,

Please hold my hand and never let go. I'm here to raise you to make sure that we both have room to grow.

||

Dear Grown-Up Version,

By helping me, help us to be mindful. Now, let us get our needs met by being honest and abandoning tactics detrimental to our survival.

||

Dear Inner Child,

Could you forgive me for how I've been? I've treated you harshly and too sharply, but would you be my friend?

||

Dear Grown-Up Version,

If I forgive you, I forgive myself. Now let's move on together, and get much needed help.

By Ben White on Unsplash

social commentary
6

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wow. Incredible piece. Well done.

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Brilliant & Thought-provoking!

  • Like the conversational aspect.

  • J. Delaney-Howeabout a year ago

    Raw and emotional. Thank you for sharing!

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Insightful, creative work. :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.