Poets logo

Dear Husband, Dear Wife

A Story Of Unending Love

By somsubhra banerjeePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Dear Husband, Dear Wife
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

How I wish, dear wife that you would remember me,

my touch, my eyes, my face, my voice, and me as a whole.

alas, fifty years of togetherness separated by this disease,

you're there, but not there,

I sit holding your hand,

at the bench of our old age home,

I walk holding your wrinkled hand at the garden,

my eyes on you constantly,

waiting for that smile, reassuring,

but alas, I've become just a figment of your memory,

a memory that you do not remember.

Oh dear husband it is so painful seeing you,

suffering, carrying the burden of my memory,

if only I could tell you, shouting,

from up above the sky that I am no more,

that you are yet to move on,

we were each other's support systems, I know,

if one breaks, the other breaks too.

how I wish I could go and hold your trembling hands,

desperately longing for support,

and say that I am there, really there and not in your imagination.

it's so lonely up here,

silent spectator to see you deteriorate,

I pray for your health and we'll meet someday, up here,

you can hold my crumpled hand as much as you want!

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

somsubhra banerjee

Loves mountains, sea waves, old buildings, petrichor, sound of night crickets, haiku, kintsukuroi , books, dogs, silences and also cacophonies!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.