Poets logo

Dear Heather

Read my poem

By Cathy holmesPublished 8 months ago β€’ Updated 8 months ago β€’ 1 min read
20
photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

Dear Heather,

Here's my response to your "Write Me a Letter" Challenge, in which you state among other stuff, that all 26 letters of the alphabet must be used.

How friggin' convenient!

I've been wanting to re-publish my Halloween poem from last year, and you gave me the perfect outlet. Yes, I've know you've read it. Yes, I'm know I'm cheating so I shouldn't be eligible for a prize, but who cares. Show me the money!!!

Honestly, I'd be happy to get some new eyes on my poem. I'm sure I'll enter another, more serious (yeah right) piece for your challenge. Meanwhile, here's my poem:

Night of Screams, A Spooky Abecedarian

Autumn winds send chills to the core

Black cats startling those who fear

Cadavers rise and walk the floor

Death hangs ghostly in the air

*

Eerie scenes of thickening fog

Frightful screams from all around

Grisly visions of bodies flogged

Haunting dreams with horror's sound

*

Impish goblins roam aimless in shadows

Jack-o-lanterns carry dimly light

Kisses of evil stalk fear in darkness

Lust filled monsters crave bloody smite

*

Masqueraded attire can’t hide the evil

Nightmare of terror that upon us begins

October full moon casts spells from medieval

Phantoms and witches chanting our sins

*

Queen of dark terror shows her visage

Reigning over this frightful night

Serpents slink from dead, blackened eyes

Tingling sensations from ghoulish sight

*

Unearthly creatures rise from their graves

Visions of horror are at once released

Wicked demons join in the fray

Xylophones play while spectres feast

*

Yowling wakes them from their dreams

Zombies stroll on the night of screams

--------

Thanks Nerd.

Love,

Nitty

(please don't unfriend me)

performance poetry
20

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman7 months ago

    This is so spooky! I love it!

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Abece...what. Did you guys make up a word. Googling..waitaminute! ABECEDARIAN - arranged alphabetically. Ok, new one for me. Thanks Cathy. Your poem was simply abe.....darian.

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    lol! love this! definitely cheating and we had similar ideas as mine will probably feature an abecdarian I'm working on that's unrelated but I shall shoehorn in clunkily! well done on the fine letter and excellent poem!

  • Well played, Cathy.

  • Denise E Lindquist8 months ago

    Great Abecedarian for this season and it does fit Heather's challenge! You win! I missed it in the first round too.πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

  • You sneaky little evil genius! Abecedarian was such a brilliant idea to fit the 26 alphabets criteria! I was so shocked at the speed you wrote a piece for a challenge! Cheater! 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣 Nevertheless, I still love your poem!

  • Great idea, well executed

  • JBaz8 months ago

    Is this cheating, or utter briliance??? I have not yet decided. But I do like it

  • Tiffany Gordon 8 months ago

    Brilliant work Cathy!

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    I am glad Heather gave you the chance to share this spooky wonderful poem since I missed it the first round.

  • Veronica Coldiron8 months ago

    πŸ˜†πŸ€£πŸ˜…πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

  • Sheesh- This was Awesome πŸ‘ πŸ§‘πŸ“πŸ‘ŒπŸ­πŸ‘»

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Woohoo!!! Cathy this is a double. Your letter tio Heather challenge and the spooky season chalkenge!!! Loved it!!!

  • Test8 months ago

    Very creative and powerful Cathy. Well done!

  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    Woah! That was quick! Great job Cathy! πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ

  • Heather Hubler8 months ago

    Bahahaha!! I did love this the first time and loved it even more now :) Although I read this line, 'Lust filled monsters crave bloody smite' as 'Lust filled monsters crave bloody smut'. What is wrong with me?? Don't answer that :) Loved it!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.