Poets logo

Dear Granddad

A Poem

By Arieann PettwayPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like
 

November 21st at 3 pm was the day that my whole life would change, when you could barely squeeze my hand... Eyes red and your body feeling burden down with pain.

I looked you in your face and you gave me confirmation that you made peace, seeing that tear shed from your eyes letting me know that it was time for you to meet the king.

At that moment I felt my heart racing saying to myself that "this can't be". Lord please... Don't take away my father figure, he was the man who raised me.

Your heart monitor flat lined and all I heard was cries and screams... Sorta like a bad dream which turned out to be my reality.

Nothing in me could make me believe that you were long gone, Not even seeing your body in a blue and gold casket while the church choir sang hymns and sad songs.

Long after your funeral a difficult situation came my way, I called myself picking up the phone calling you and that's when it hit me... The same man who I called Dad, that once held my hand, was no longer with me.

Six years later tears pouring out my eyes as I write this to you, I've been through hell and back wishing that heaven had visiting hours just so I could talk to you.

I Thank God that he blessed me with someone like you, a man who conquered everything and made everything possible for me to.

Dear Granddad, as I came in this world and you saw me take my first breath, I called your name one last time as I watched you take your final rest.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Arieann Pettway

I am a 20 year old Journalism Major. I write about life experiences that I've been through in hopes that others could relate to me as well. My goal is to touch souls and inspire others to become their very best in life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.