Poets logo

Dear God . . . I'm sorry

An apology

By Heather HagyPublished about a year ago 2 min read
3

Dear God:

I’m sorry – I ignored the angel you sent my way. It was a test, and I failed. Dirty, disheveled, your messenger approached me. Distracted, dismissive, I rejected him without hesitation.

I’m sorry – I didn’t even look him in the face. I sat in my car, engrossed in my phone. Quiet, shy, he asked if I had any extra change. Annoyed, impolite, I mumbled a lie, saying I had nothing.

I’m sorry – I watched him return to the storefront, alone. He sat on the sidewalk, head bowed. Hurrying, scurrying, people ignored him. Watching, waiting, I felt the first stirrings of conviction.

I’m sorry – I call myself a Christian. Yet I was anything but charitable. Standing, stretching, the man looked around, at everything, at nothing. Selfish, stupid, I drove away like a coward.

I’m sorry – I wasn’t brave enough to go back. Too ashamed to face him, too scared to face the truth. Gnawing, nagging, the realization of his true nature hit me. Sickened, saddened, I could only repent in silence.

I’m sorry – I never saw him again. Never got the chance to make it right. Did you call him back to heaven? Or does he still wander around in disguise?

I’m sorry – I know I don’t deserve to ask but would you please tell him something for me?

Tell him – I’m sorry I didn’t spare the change, spare the time, to help spare his earthly life.

Tell him – I wish I could go back to that day and do it over. Do it right.

Tell him – I have learned, I have grown, and I am committed to being a better human.

Tell him – I don’t know him. But I love him.

Humbly yours,

Heather

"Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some have unwittingly entertained angels." (Hebrews 13:2)

sad poetrysurreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Heather Hagy

Stephen King fan (but not like Annie "I'm your #1 fan" Wilkes cuz I'm sane and she's not)

Horror/supernatural are my favorite writing genres

Wife to 1 and mom to 4 humans, 4 dogs, 6 cats, and a dragon

"Jaws" is the greatest movie ever

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe Pattersonabout a year ago

    I relate to this in every way. Really touched my heart. You have a new subscriber, can’t wait to read more of your work.

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    I really liked the sentiment of this poem. Too often we stop seeing the people on the street and treat them like they are only a part of the background

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.