Poets logo

Dear Future--Love M.

A self-poetic letter between myself and the future. Content Warning-Trauma, Grief, Loss, Depression, thoughts of death

By Meghan LeVaughn Published 2 years ago 1 min read
4
Dear Future--Love M.
Photo by PaaZ PG on Unsplash

Dear Future,

Will I have a Bright future?

I know it's hard to say…

I wish I could believe that things would get better.

Sadly, it's not.

The darkness is still there.

I wish someone could know me before the mid-2010s or early 2020s.

It's almost 2023(2022 is getting closer to the end).

It's been in a dark world with hellish cults from violence and hate that our world turned into an endless nightmare.

It's been too much for me in years.

I can't stand it anymore!

If things are getting bleaker forever, I don't know if I'll survive any longer.

Why?

Because– I'm one of those beings that the monstrous leader of the cult hates– a woman, disabled, and queer.

It means that I will no longer see myself as a human or a citizen on this earth.

I would become more of an object and less valuable forever just like in the past.

I wish someone could believe my concerns but sadly they just want me to keep silent and all those phrases like ‘get over it and ‘don't be a baby.

If something happens to me, they would ignore me and laugh at me even more.

I lost someone who is close to me and has been so busy these days with no response to my call.

I felt betrayed by my home, my close ones, my friends, my family, my country, and my community.

Every time I see it's bleak, bleak, bleak, and bleak-every day and night and then the next day more bleakness.

I don't know if I'll be around for next year, 5-10 years. I will be gone soon –I don't know when.

I wish things could get better, but it's too late now. The Nightmare will never be gone and I will never wake up.

Love, M.

heartbreakperformance poetrysad poetrysurreal poetry
4

About the Creator

Meghan LeVaughn

I'm Meghan. I’m almost 36. I always love to be creative and using my imagination since I was a little girl. I like stories & love to share my inspirations, journeys, etc.

www.twitter.com/MegsDreamDesign

www.instagram.com/meghansdreamdesigns

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Heartbreaking but their is hope.😊😊 Music heals, self-care. You are loved💖💕

  • I am so sorry you are in this place! I understand depression and fight to get out of that space! I take 5000 B vitamins every day. I use a sun lamp especially in the winter, when it is grey. I do laughter yoga daily in the midst of it. I can relate to some of what you are talking about, more than just a little bit. I am an older, disabled, Native American woman. Sometimes we try things that are a permanent solution to a temporary problem man. Sometimes we do things that make it an option for our younger family members when it wasn't an option before. Thank you for sharing, I won't write anymore!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Powerful piece. You are human and an important citizen of earth. Hang in there.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.