Poets logo

Dear Duplicity

Closure

By Insinq DatumPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 2 min read
16
Dear Duplicity
Photo by Peter Olexa on Unsplash

These last few words I write to thee

Are past due to my destiny

I cast this spell so I might see

Contrast within this constancy

x

Well, once upon a time did we

Both feel that e-lectricity

When I kissed you and you kissed me

Our flame once burnt wild, bright and free

x

You were a lock, and I your key

I came to see that through the storm

The same were we, if but briefly

Akin despite our diff'rent form

x

The skins you wore to suit the norm

The girl, the nurse, the loving spouse

Identities became a swarm

The nameless curse of brightest blouse

x

A game we played, of cat and mouse

We made a home out of our house

We wrote a tome, a lovely tale

Of love, of loss, and of betray'l

x

And in this poem did we set sail

For distant shores beyond the veil

The seas we roam are ways to find

These long lost doors within the mind

x

The breeze does blow, the law does bind

This song is sung, the deed is signed

The bell is rung, our time’s run out

A silver tongue need never shout

x

From wit has sprung a diff'rent route

A shade made of dubious doubt

A maiden young yet cold of heart

Will often yearn to play her part

x

So highly strung right from the start

And so if she should want to rise

She’s forced to learn to ply her art

The art of cloaking truth with lies

x

Of cheating with those gorgeous eyes

It’s heating up in here my dear

So fleeting is your loyal guise

Our inferno is growing near

x

So quick are you to cut all ties

You’re sick so suddenly of here

You say you must take to the skies

What is it just, that you so fear

x

About the dust that’s settled down

The songs that you will never hear

You just can’t trust the magic clown

She longs to be the puppeteer

x

To pull the strings that bind the sphere

That animates your daily life

No matter how she might appear

Her signature is always strife

x

How skilfully she wields the knife

As webs are spun and stories told

Your fantasy she weaves, your wife

Until you’re drunk on toxic gold

x

This siren song is getting old

A shame, for youth, your soul you sold

Aflame we were, so uncontrolled

I wish you’d said you planned to fold

x

I would have shifted strategy

Least now I know who’s lost at sea

Ephemeral though you may be

Your name is Dear Duplicity.

sad poetry
16

About the Creator

Insinq Datum

I'm an aspiring poet, author and philosopher. I run a 5000+ debating community on Discord and a couple of Youtube channels, one related to the Discord server and one related to my work as a philosopher. I am also the author of DMTheory.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.