Poets logo

Dear Desire

By: T. Joiner

By Tremayne JoinerPublished about a year ago 2 min read

Dear Desire,

This is my Divorce and Marriage, my Hate and Love letter to you.

Desire, I'm filing for a divorce today you see, you have gone off the deep-end, untethered and free.

Without condition or limitation, you roam rampant without shame. Truly, "A 'Street Car,'" is a very fitting name. I cannot be committed to something that navigates through people like traffic. The way you have whored yourself out to everyone is tragic.

When I first met you, I had a newfound hope. You allowed me to see the world a little brighter and allowed me to cope.

But you, Desire, are a deceptive, cunning little cheat. Worming your way into the minds of the broken hearted and meek. Promising futures of joy and happiness but always leaving incomplete.

Desire, I know that you were placed on my heart for a reason, I know you are not, at your core evil, but you have to understand everything has its season.

You are the greatest drug dealer on the market selling: Lust, Elation, Reverence, and Fantasy is your currency. Fronting for the Disease, Depression, Destitution that you make sound so compelling. Your victims can't even see their own state of emergency. Your loose tongued promises have only led to hot screens, hot needles, and hot spoons, late night texts, greed, scars, and hotel rooms.

But if Desire is not the target being sought after, and love is the goal, then limits have been placed on you and we- may keep our souls. When we search for something greater than ourselves, You, can be found along the way. But when You are not the end goal, you are unable to tempt us from walking astray.

However, Desire has the world so blinded and confused, that they believe the final objective is, "Well as long as I have You."

I will no longer be manipulated by such an unbounded tyranny. For what is a promise worth if you are not bound to me?

But this Marriage I make now will lead to Purpose, Peace, and Prosperity, the likes of which this world has forgotten; a rare sight to see.

This is my Contract to which you and I will abide, I am laying you down before a man, much wiser than I.

Desire, you have been a devious two-sided token, which one side has left many people alone, lost and broken.

Today I am turning you over, tying the knot, you will be bound. You Committed to Me, not the other way round.

Disciplined and controlled we will walk in the light, Walking to HIM we will find our delight.

sad poetryslam poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Tremayne Joiner

Just a guy with too many stories in his head just trying to get them all written down...maybe one of them is something worth something

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Tremayne JoinerWritten by Tremayne Joiner

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.