Poets logo

Dear Depression.

Depression is real.

By Allandra-MPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
3
Dear Depression.
Photo by Norbert Tóth on Unsplash

Jaytekz once said, "What is life if you can't make the most of it? , What is love if you can't get a hold of it? , What's a smile if you're not really happy? Wake up everyday with a frown feeling crappy, Tell me what is laughter when you just wanna' cry. Nobody understands how you feel deep inside But you gotta' stay strong with your head held high"

This poem is dedicated to anyone struggling with depression but is afraid to reach out for help. I understands your pain/s and silent cries BUT never forget, "There's always light at the end of a dark tunnel"

******************************************

Dear Depression, although it feels like hell dealing with you, you made me realize that I'm stronger than I think.

You made me realize why I should keep living.

Fighting with my emotions and feelings everyday because you're like a stubborn child; you don't stop.

I'm sinking; my body, mind and soul are sinking

Why do you hate seeing me happy?

You've taken way too much, What more do you want from me?

Why? Depression Why?

I need to know why you won't let me control MY mood swings?, instead you let it spiral out of control?

It's unexplainable yet weird but I don't know how to describe you.

Dear Depression, tell your best friend anxiety I said “Hey”

Miss Anxiety won't leave me alone either, I'll say we are a dysfunctional trio.

Dear Depression, some days are good, some days are bad and there are days you won't let me forget.

I don't want to get out of bed, I don't want to eat, I don't want to talk.

I'm isolated in my own world, wandering minds and sadness.

I don't know how you manage to destroy my life but I'm learning to accept you.

Dear Depression, you made me feel worthless, disappointment, sadness, and anger.

I can't catch a break, I'm stuck in the middle between you and your best friend anxiety.

Dear Depression, you made me hate myself, you kept saying you're going to defeat me.

I don't know how to cope with you anymore.

Dear Depression, you're like a math equation; difficult at first, you made my head hurt, you made me so mad but I always find a solution.

Dear Depression, dealing with you is tiring but I won't let you win.

I have a purpose here and I won't let you get the best of me.

Dear Depression, escaping your hell-hole is not an option.

Destruction and Frustration.

Dear Depression, you take over half the population with your bad reputation.

You won’t leave, you make it impossible to function.

Dear Depression, you should take a vacation and never return. Trust me you won’t be missed.

I’ll show you the direction to your destination.

I won’t come with you because I have better things to do.

*******************************************

***************************************

Credits:

https://youtu.be/lwgr_IMeEgA

https://youtu.be/xo1VInw-SKc

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Allandra-M

Welcome to my world💫

Writing is my therapy🦋

-Aspiring Army Nurse & Nurse Practitioner👩🏾‍⚕️💉

- Mental Health Advocate💪🏾❤️🧠

-Inquire: [email protected]

-Instagram: @thegiftedauthor

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨.

All rights reserved©

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.