Poets logo

Dear Catherine

We often create fictitious identities and entities to pray to.

By Jiselle KamppilaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Dear Catherine
Photo by Elesban Landero Berriozábal on Unsplash

Dear Catherine,

The lonely nights call

As I flow for its attention

I could never catch it,

The series of clouds

Framing my face,

Forever

The senseless

Words

Are my

World.

Forever- a rhyme

There is dust

Around me.

Awaiting my third death,

I envy your pillow.

The flowers, the flowers,

Circle me,

From the waves,

To the sea.

I’m standing

Sand burning my feet

You’re here.

Take a seat.

I float alone.

Dear Catherine,

My constraints are heavy with certain infatuations of love and success.

Heavy with fantasies, I’m conjuring a nightmare.

So many nightmares through action, explanations.

They are smart fantasies. It explains why I cannot write an ordinary sentence.

Banality frightens me.

The failure to interject.

Chaos are my children and I am tired. Sometimes I wish the Bible would correct me.

How do you create a language transmittable to one object?

Approval of inferiority, romanticism, mental illness;

clouds, rain, stares of people, lay down in me.

Crying, crying, crying, crying.

Context is hell. I put faith into my crystals.

I do not remember what love feels like,

I never hear birds singing,

Or think about them, about that noise

That they gift my ears.

There is something wrong --

With only me.

Confusion is hearing cries in laughter.

My illusion is trying hard,

Can you see these heavy, burning eyes?

They are catching sunlight, knowledge,

All anonymously.

Sing a word, crying fuels me.

I’m crying. Imagine his fire caught within me.

Dear Catherine,

I can’t help but fantasize about dying.

I have to watch everyone cry,

I’m afraid because so many people died.

I hear Virginia Woolf and Christina Rossetti say to me;

Hear the trees weep,

You became a female,

All while 6 feet deep.

Ladders to fire, call me in advance.

No men, no women,

Crazy chants.

I think it’s my queer history.

The sea looks different to me.

Life is covered with flowers and candy-flavored lobotomies.

Sometimes, I see you Catherine, you resemble the many men I visit,

How many corpses that looks exquisite,

You stand before craters,

My land of bones.

I see you as my dead Lola,

Fingers trying to be brave

To crawl out of a grave.

You’re brave, a woman, your hands tied around mine.

Like God -- you stand the test of time.

I hear winters in the summer,

Birds swimming in the sea-- is that what poets perceive?

At night, bugs swarming,

Nails clicking to chaotic thought,

Words are chanted as prayers of words that have already been said;

“The irresponsible silence of the land,

The irresponsive standing of the sea,

Speak both one message of one sense to me:

Aloof, aloof, we stand aloof.

So stand

...of inner solitude.

….That final moment for man’s bliss or bane.

Vanity of vanities, yeah all is vain”

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jiselle Kamppila

Jiselle Kamppila is an interdisciplinary fine artist, curator, poet, and painter. She interacts with word expirements and Baudelarian language.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.