Poets logo

Dear Body

An epistolary poem from me to me

By Sandra Tena ColePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
22

Dear Body,

Can you please help me out?

The chronic pain, the lethargic states, the slowness of movement at randomn times,

can we do something together to get rid of it all?

I give you rest, I give you warmth, I give you coolness when you request,

I give you nutritients and needed treats, I add supplements and meds if that's what has to be,

I try to exercise whenever you let me,

(but please, please, please let me exercise more, as my weight is really downing me!)

I try my best to take care of you, and I feel you make all so hard,

I don't know how to best take care of you!

Blood tests every few months, new therapies begun, a massage if I can afford it, and a bath whenever I can.

Fresh fruit and veg in all our cooking, mostly balanced eating in a crazy schedule too,

but my energy decreases and my limbs all become stuck.

Then there is the problem with my bronchia, and how hard it is to explain,

particularly during Covid times, when so many people stated it was perfectly okay to them if I died.

And don't get me started on the hormonal issues, I really can't take any more of those!

Years and years of seeing doctors, healers, therapists and more,

off I go tomorrow for another set of tests!

Hopefully one of these times the therapy will help,

but dear body, can you help me?

Can you help me work it out?

Can you give me signs or reasons, so that I can at least understand?

Can you help me shed the weight? Get my muscles back in shape? Get the chronic pain surely banned? Can you help me make you right?

I love you and I hope you help me,

Please, oh please do help me out!

Most sincerely, and most lovingly,

Me

sad poetry
22

About the Creator

Sandra Tena Cole

Actress, Model, Writer

Co-producer at His & Hers Theatre Company

Esoteric Practitioner

Idealist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Hillery D. Keefer5 months ago

    I’m crying!!!! Love this. I feel for you. Hugs!!! PS Ima hurt those people who said you could die. Reveal them to me.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Brilliant & beautiful letter to your body!!! Felt your emotional pleadings that are very relatable. Sending hugs!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Loved this! The call to your body to help you out, for that mutual understanding that you're both working for the same end goal, fantastically written!

  • Real Poetic10 months ago

    I felt this to my core. This is so amazing in every single way. ❤️👏🏼

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    I felt that one. Well done.

  • Phil Flannery11 months ago

    I hope you find some answers sooner than later. Sending my best wishes.

  • This is great and I do feel for you, thank you for sharing this

  • Sarah Danaher11 months ago

    i would like to say that to my old sports injuries and other pains along the way. The older I get the worse it gets but I do hope it gets better for you

  • Moe Radosevich11 months ago

    Might wanna share this with my body I feel ya Sandra,

  • Kristen 11 months ago

    Thank you for sharing what you’re going through so eloquently. I hope your body listens and responds! I very much relate. <3

  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    Hi Sandra This epistolary poem is very moving. Highly personal in its form (from me … to me.) There is a clear audience that can relate ‘feel your pain and torment’ particularly those with a chronic health condition or chronic pain. However your language, heartfelt and pleading provides universal appeal. Thank you for writing 🌸

  • Mariann Carroll11 months ago

    They say Cherry is a natural pain killers. I am sorry your are going through a lot of pain, sending you hugs .

  • Omg! I'm so sorry people said it would be okay to them if you died! That is so heartless! Karma will get them. I hope you're doing well. Sending you lots of love and hugs 🥺❤️

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    You've been having a bad time of it health wise Sandra, haven't you? This line hit hard: 'when so many people stated it was perfectly okay to them if I died.' Say what? People actually told you that? NOT okay!!! This is upsetting! Can I say that it's definitely not okay for you to die, you're just a young woman! 💓

  • Melissa Ingoldsby11 months ago

    I feel this, ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.