Poets logo

Dealt This Play

Parody of a parody, with apologies to Lady Gaga and Weird Al

By Meredith HarmonPublished 7 months ago 2 min read
6
The actual hand that inspired this. Dealt to me this way - I just fanned them out. We were playing Five Crowns.

My daddy told me when I was young,

"You gotta play the cards you're dealt.

"Good or bad, just show them what you've got

"Lay them out right on the felt."

Whether Lady Luck is on my side

Or went out for a smoke and pee

I'll play it to my best ability

I check my cards - my eyes go wide

*****

I'm on a roll today, no folding this display

Yeah! Honestly I was dealt this play

Don't even need to draw one, there's not a thing to be done

The game's up, baby, I was dealt this play

*****

Ooh, I'm on a roll today

They landed in my hand this way

Really I was dealt this play

Glory! Serendipity!

The cards were tossed just right to me

Goodnight Gracie, I was dealt this play!

*****

Don't need a joker, nor a queen,

The best hand that I've ever seen

Is staring right back up at me

You'll see

*****

Raising's over, it's mine now

You cannot even stack the deck

No chance to beat this hand no way, no how

You're in it way over your neck

*****

Here they are, read 'em and weep

It's a big W-I-N (yeah yeah yeah!)

Aw, I'm sorry, was that all your rent?

That's why it's que será, será (sorry mate)

*****

I'm telling you there's no chance, I've seen the end to this dance,

Look, read the room, this isn't happenstance

You can't beat me today, all wild cards are in play

A sucker born each minute, each and every day

*****

Your story doesn't fly with me

Avoid the table, that's the key

The only way you play for free

Is in the audience, mon amie

Armchair quarterbacking sucks

When pockets cannot front the bucks

Fold 'em, leave 'em, back away

'Cause baby, I was dealt this play!

*****

By night or by day, back rooms and cigarette haze

Does it matter now? You're avoiding my gaze?

The final pot is all mine, I swear this hand is divine

Pack it in now, honey, I was dealt this play!

*****

I was dealt this play hey! Your tears have no sway

No cards up my sleeve, it's a natural display

I was dealt this play hey! Doesn't help to pray -ay

The night's mine, baby, I was dealt this play hey!

humor
6

About the Creator

Meredith Harmon

Mix equal parts anthropologist, biologist, geologist, and artisan, stir and heat in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch country, sprinkle with a heaping pile of odd life experiences. Half-baked.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock7 months ago

    I'd still find a way to be Nicholas Cage & lose to a royal flush, lol.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.