Poets logo

Day

"What are the people gonna say?"

By CatPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I woke up.

Looked in the mirror

the other

day.

I never used to care about what

other people say.

Well…

Slowly but surely,

I start to feel

so insecure.

Without materialism,

“am I still

a beautiful girl?”

I looked in the mirror.

Picked at my skin

the other

day.

All the blemishes

from stressing.

“What are the people

gonna say?”

I hesitate.

What to upload.

“Is it attractive?”

“Do I even meet the criteria

to be

socially active?”

But one day…

I woke up.

Checked out the mirror.

Clear as

day.

I told myself,

“I don’t want to care about what

other people say.”

It’s crazy.

Not one

person

even noticed

a single flaw.

Just this

pretty little face,

accompanied by

some who

wanted it all.

-

Sometimes,

you’ll be astounded

what people

say.

Not everyone is brutal

when you’re finally meeting them

face to face.

Not everyone is

out to get you.

Some humans here are

truly great!

-

Step into places

that are

meaningful,

something real.

Remove the artificial,

and talk to people

you can feel.

-

I guarantee

you’ll come to see some

excellent

days.

-

And soon,

you’ll be looking forward

to what

all of the people

are gonna

say.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Cat

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.