Poets logo

Day Break

Just open your eyes

By Moni SchexPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
Like
Day Break
Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

Drowning in sorrow, despair, and self pity

I know why the caged bird sings

Deep bellows ascend from the bellies of the scorned

Sounds of sheer heartache

Too loud to hear that faint inner voice

Screaming with raspiness from screaming evermore

"Just open your eyes!"

Itchy, scratchy, burning blood-shot eyes

Merely glowing in the moonlight through tight eyed squints

Dissapointed that the daybreak is still not evident

Dismissing the intuitive feeling that something more, something greater than myself is just within reach

And hearing that voice again a bit more clearly

"Just open your eyes!"

Finally I give in too weak to fight much longer

Never a quitter, nor coward

I stare at the vast lush greens before me and realize I am on the brink of destiny

My new day has begun, most apreciatively thankful that i made it through the barren wastelands

And all I had to do was open my eyes!!

surreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Moni Schex

I write through my emotions. Each poem is an excerpt from the moment in time I’m existing in at the time of writing.

My short stories reflect past observances, insights, and imaginative reflections on situations.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.