Poets logo

Dawns

Recovery journey

By KempPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Moring sunrise

Another morning I awake to sun coming through the door

it burns off all the fear and hate I felt the night before.

A single call comes on the phone, brings me back to that place

as if I'm standing in that room, our bodies face to face.

Its been so long that I endured what most people couldn't take

I moved away and worked so hard for this life away

my journeys far from being done and there's more dawns to come

to help me to move along until this war is done.

No longer have to fight the way I learned to fight before.

I'm fixing up the broken tools which cracked upon the floor.

The war goes on for all of them the way it always had

I've learned all that I need to do is accept those helping hands.

Writing limericks helps get out the thoughts scattered in my mind. Sharing my experience with others the best way I can. Survived what can only be described as a nightmare I am learning to re live my life with a new light. I can only hope that someone will read one of my limericks and feel they're not alone in life. If no one else gets anything from them that's okay. Proud to be who I am today, and working on accepting who I was. Happy reading friends and family.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Kemp

A small town girl, in a bizarre world. Sharing life of recovery through limericks and words. I am who I am.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.