Poets logo

Dawn's Kiss

The Reflections Within

By TJ DecenaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Dominik Hofbauer

The eyes open for I am the voyager of tomorrows

Another day gifted, for not everyone sees it

I embrace the morning, her calming bliss that I bathe into

What today brings unknown to me, yet already written

*

The seconds in moment flicker, yet I lay still

Submerged in my thoughts, fantasy or real

Alone in the neutral, body present, mind wandering

Both madness and inspiration descend within

*

I ponder what else the day brings

Would the faces that come to pass, have tales to tell 

I hope my lens of prejudice understand their burden

Yet I seek to find answers though the question is hidden

*

I wonder why it gives me both warmth and sorrow

Seeing one person eat and nourish all alone

Or hearing a child's laugh, innocent then corruptible

Why is love lost and found again, and goes ever on

*

I want to be the youth in me needed 

Would have I done enough to carve a place on this earth

Learn that sadness is temporary, so is happiness  

So are the people's lessons whether they left or stayed

*

Would today be the time I withdraw to solitude

Or perhaps open my arms to lighten your troubles 

If I knew how to absorb the world's misgivings with you

Though I can't keep my own darkness unguarded 

*

I've given all I have, even when there's none left

To dig deep to depths unknown just to hang unto hope

Tomorrow is never promised, I still glisten with gratitude 

Just to witness another sunset, and woken by the kiss of dawn

inspirationalsad poetrysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

TJ Decena

I am a Calgary based writer, screenwriter, poet and author.

Writing saved me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.