Poets logo

Daughter

A Mother's Love

By Sara FrederickPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2
Paul Fusco / Magnum

She said an ugly word today

I heard it in my ear

Cold and cutting full of hatred

Though, is nothing for me to fear

-

So pretty is her countenance

Her language, unexpected, stings

It must sit bitter on her tongue

To say such spiteful things

-

She tries to take a bite again

To eat my heart up whole

The smell of sulfur rises strong

You cannot have my soul

-

I touch her face, light and gentle

To tame her feral ways

Soft tears come flowing down her cheeks

The anger kept at bay

-

Why rail at me, so strong and hard

I ask to understand

Because you’re there, she says to me

Holding my older hand

-

Let us not fight my daughter, mine

For warm care, please do ask

When feeling sad, or down, or blue

In my love, you will bask

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Sara Frederick

I often write about broken or damaged beings. But I love, love. I believe everyone, person or creature, deserves love and acceptance. Thank you for reading.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    Childish fits & tantrums, common to most if not all. Parental patience, love & compassion as we wish they always were, wish we would never once allow them to slip from our grasp, & always aspire to be. Simply poignant & beautiful.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.