Poets logo

Daughter Mine

To Explain the Unexplainable

By Adam DiehlPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Daughter Mine
Photo by Arleen wiese on Unsplash

Dear Daughter,

How many of these have I started

got a little ways, then stalled?

There are so many things I want to tell you

if ever I'm unable to answer when you called.

How many times have I tried to tell you

how truly loved you are?

Sputtering words to paper

but never getting very far.

How does one tell the air

how grateful you are it fills your lungs?

If I could, I would tell you

in all of history's known and forgotten tongues.

Believe me when I tell you,

that I've tried so many times.

But in the end just hugged and kissed you

in lieu of words that wouldn't come to mind.

So, despite my best efforts

at profundity and insight

my attempts always fall flat,

my words never seem to come out right.

Just know, from now until forever, even when,

especially when,

you feel so worn down you can't take another step

wherever I might be, I will be with you then.

Love and pizza,

Papa.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.