Poets logo

Daughter

Lana

By R. S. EdmondsonPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Dear Lana,

The moment your

porcelain peach skin

fingers grasped mine

I was entranced by you.

Your bright green eyes

locked to mine

I held you close to my breast

rocking you to sleep.

My baby,

a beautiful being

we’ve made

your father and I.

Crying was like clockwork

on the dot at 2 AM

Feeding you a routine

of your favorites-strawberries

and peach puree.

The pitter-patter of tiny feet

music to my ears

playing blocks and princess

and I was always the purple sea monster.

Pink glitter and glue seemed necessary

on shopping lists like milk and eggs.

Talking never ceased

your brain read green

everywhere we went.

You’ve grown immensely

your brown hair getting longer everyday

the intelligence you possess

undeniably remarkable.

Entranced when you were born

And still today

the white gown sweeping your body

a symbol of purity.

May he always care for you,

Cherish and love you

My baby.

Love Mama

love poems
Like

About the Creator

R. S. Edmondson

"If everyone were truly happy, nothing would be written...even then, it would be mundane." ~ Myself

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.