Poets logo

Darkness Reigns

But tomorrow is another day.

By sylvana lee-jonesPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Evening night by SLJ

Darkness reigns in the pit of my gut.

Holding me down like I'm sh*t out of luck.

I feel the tears preparing to fall,

But frustration kicks in, it builds me a wall.

Frustration from not knowing what eats me inside.

It feels like my soul has something to hide.

But no matter how I look, how hard I try,

I just can't seem to figure out the 'why'.

I ask myself time and time again,

What is it, now, that's disturbing my zen?

Could it be something from way back when?

Even if I thought I put those issues to bed?

The past, it seems, is never quite dead!

I am so tired of feeling so sad,

When things in my life really aren't that bad!

I am happy to say I have escaped my past.

Yet the feelings of old, they continue to last.

But even if I can't pinpoint what it is,

It's a feeling of which I need to get rid,

This feeling of dread, which needs to lift,

To be so sensitive, doesn't feel like a gift.

But I really try not to despair,

I'm always looking for hope in the air,

After-all, today is just a day,

Tomorrow may just bring a different way.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.