Poets logo

Dark Places

Tales and Scars

By Novel AllenPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
19
NightCafe Studio Image

No man has ever been so bold to dare lift a fist or hand to me

Nor is it ok to lift hand or fist to any in the name of love

It may be my bold, in your face, I take no crap face

That says to all, try it at your own risk

But many a mean word has cut a path thru my soul

It is true what has been said

A word can hurt as much as a slap in the face

I have been in the mire of love and deep was the path it took

Many a dark scar and dark pain did pave that path

Scar and pain like the road to Hell and its red hot fire

When the pity, fury and pain did wear away from my jinn

It was then my wish to stay, to live in Hell's miry hot lane

Let a bit of that fury fire burn for ever, sear the soul for ever

If love ever has a need to tear that veil and be real true love

Then let it find its way thru the pits of Hell to me

Love that will walk thru fire for me

That is the love for which I wait, one that has

A kind sort of fire not lit by the same hell fire

That I have made to burn as the cage of a bird for my soul

But the type of love that will ever, yet ever

Heal the soul and lift the mind from the red hot Hell burn

If this be you

Then come find me in the land of love and Hell fire!

Only then will I open that cage and bit by tiny bit

Baby step, by baby step

Let love ever find its way to that dark Hell Cave

That does hide the real true ME!

vintageslam poetryperformance poetrylove poemsheartbreak
19

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    A single word may cut like a knife, but so might a single word withheld. May you only know words of love in your life, Novel, & may you know them in abundance. And never fear the depths of your heart, for from them come such words as these to help sustain others.

  • Excellent read!!! Great work Novel...!!!

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Stunning work No! I absolutely love it! I hope that that pure, bold, courageous, divine love finds you my friend!

  • Whoaaaa! This was soooo powerful! You are freaking amazing!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji10 months ago

    Wow powerful-love it

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Great work!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    Oh, I felt this one 🖤

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    This is wonderful. Great job.

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Very compelling poem, Novel! That first line took my breath away and drew me in immediately ❤️

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Whoa mumma! 👏🔥♥️ This was good! Powerful writing and deeply felt. I loved this Novel! The new image is also very eye catching.

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    🤯 this is super cool! Could feel the defiance.

  • D. ALEXANDRA PORTER10 months ago

    Whoa! 😲 Wait, Novel, is this from you? I love it. 💜 This is my new favorite poem. Or is it a micro-manifesto? Bravissimo! 👏

  • Wow, that was Deep- Not that Mary J(Real love)❤️😉

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.