Poets logo

Dandelions

Stubborn thing, I am.

By JuniperPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Dandelions
Photo by Daphné Richard on Unsplash

I know I began to grow where you never desired me. I wish you would understand how difficult it was, though. I crawled out from nothing and found life in the most undetectable crack of pavement. I nestled in and prayed to be something, and as the rain found me, I understood that I could be something. I began to grow. A small yellow thing, I was. When my color began to show was most likely when you had spotted me. You smiled that first time. I felt so much joy. Oh, to be seen and liked. Loved, maybe? For the first time, I had felt a reason to grow not just for survival, but for affection. However, as more of my flowers began to bloom my roots began to crack your pavement. I didn’t mean it, truly, but I had begun to make the ground around you unstable. I had misunderstood your praise. I tried to move myself away from my burrow, but the roots I had set to become a spectacle for you to admire had trapped me in the deep earth. It was only when you flushed my roots with boiling water and vinegar, I realized I had only grown so far to please you and had stopped considering my own survival.

nature poetrylove poemsheartbreakFree Verse

About the Creator

Juniper

Hey there! My name's Juniper. I'm a first year college student studying library science. Writing has been a passion of mine since I was little so I figured I'd drop some of my stories off here. Enjoy! :)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Omgggg, that was so heartbreaking!!! Gosh, it broke me! Loved this so much!

  • Test6 months ago

    Your portrayal of yearning to be seen and loved resonates deeply. There's a heartfelt longing to be recognized and appreciated, yet with that comes an unintentional disturbance, disrupting what was once stable and familiar.

JWritten by Juniper

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.