Poets logo

Dancing, While Growing Up

You start ballet in a week

By Rowan Finley Published 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

You start ballet in a week,

Your attention I hope to always seek.

Pink tights and dainty ballet shoes,

watching you get older sometimes gives me the blues.

I'm sure you'll make lots of friends because you're outgoing,

or maybe I just have an intuitive way of "just knowing."

Pretty ribbons and elegant hands all poised and ready,

for this day I hoped, as you stand there steady.

Your mannerisms, all to be admired,

to be more like you, I wish I could have transpired.

Smiling and flowing with the music,

your motions are gentle and fluid.

First position, second position, now third,

your arms are careful like those of a little bird.

Giving you space,

giving you grace,

for you to be the dancer that you will become,

as I sit back, watching, quietly I hum.

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.