Poets logo

Dance Deliverance

And Unapologetic Funkiness

By The Dani WriterPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
28
Photo by Harrison Haines on Pexels

My

groove

is non-negotiable.

Every loci of my life

tied to established rhythms

a righteousness inhaled on a daily

where harmonies take their time

don’t think about breakfast ‘til noon

as drumbeats pulse chi-intensity to vital organs

central nervous system already drunk-drowned on soca

soul

sega

samba

sweetness (songs) I groove beyond classical chords (and sheet music)

to both nourish and intrigue

spiced embers beneath my feet

internal refrain on repeat

lifts me rifts me gifts me grace

a welcome insignia as spirit washes over

whilst preparations are underway.

Tempo assists in tough times.

Dance always better than doubt.

Cross-steps better than curses

crying…caving in…

quitting.

"Close eyes," I tell myself

"and listen for symphony,"

that sound a lifesaver

a limb-loosener

waist-winder, raison d’être refiner

my ability to function

converse

and remain a somewhat accessible human component

via effervescent scores.

This groove is enough.

So unapologetically enough.

And my baseline:

Breath before blood.

Altered micromanagement for homeostasis.

For calm me

a 'within earshot/striking range/shoulder support' me

Best behavior you gon’ get for now.

Booty bass unbelievable and badass.

Lyrics and lusciousness to carry through to other sides.

Eyes glazed saturated softness post-salsa intervention

and an easy "YES"

to

just

one

more groove.

Photo by Ebuka Onyewuchi on Pexels

Thank you so much for reading my poem! Sure hope you've got some rhythms nearby that you can groove to, but if not, borrow mine. Here you go:-

You are more than welcome to read more of my work here.

If you enjoyed this or any of my other stories, feel free to like, subscribe, tip, pledge, and/or share with friends and social media sites. If you wish to promote in other forums, you can secure permission @thedaniwriter

performance poetryinspirational
28

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani9 months ago

    I could feel the rhythm here. I'm not dancer but this made me smile.

  • Veronica Coldiron9 months ago

    This is awesome! Your prose has a rhythm of its own that's dance-worthy. I especially LOVED this: "spiced embers beneath my feet internal refrain on repeat" Great poem!!

  • Naveedkk 9 months ago

    Congratulations on top story

  • Anne Lecomber9 months ago

    I really enjoyed this. Described me during my raving days.

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Excellent. Congrats on the TS.

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    I agree with Oneg - the energy in this poem is uplifting. 'This groove is enough. So unapologetically enough' is a mantra! The rhythm builds a into a confidence that was there all along. Really great poem. Congratulations on Top Story.

  • Oneg In The Arctic9 months ago

    This is one of the most synesthethic poems I’ve read in a long time. I could 𝐟𝐞𝐞𝐥 the groove, the movement, the bend and flow. This poem was a delight to read. The beginning just had me hooked with its breaks and movement and ahhh. The energy woven into it, the outstanding word play and choices. “Spiced embers, booty bass unbelievable, lifts me rifts me gifts me grace” Goshhh this poem was like music for the infinite soul, for life. (I’m trying hard to explain in WORDS this electric feeling lol) Just outstanding.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    I loved this! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Awesome ✨ Congratulations on your Top Story❤️😉💯👌📝✨💖🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    So so so so amazing! Absolutely loved this, made me so happy!!!! My body radiates with joy when I dance so I felt this in my bones! Gorgeous work!!! I’ll check out your playlist– thank you for sharing!!!💫🩷

  • el maksah9 months ago

    ok

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    Loved this. The feel,the flow the overall joy of the dance. Your sub-title is perfection. Congrats on a well deserved Top Story.

  • Oooo, I loved the beat of this poem! Brilliant work!

  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    Dear Di ~ You always bring out the 'Funkiness' in me. Jay

  • Groovy! Go & get your groove on, my friend.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Wow!!! Loving your performance poem!!! Love your line, "Dance always better than doubt." Definitely inspirational!!!❤️❤️💕

  • KJ Aartila9 months ago

    Oh, this is gorgeous! I can hear my song playing in my head, feel it in my essence - now I will dance my way back out the door to the arena where my steed awaits! 🎶

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.