Poets logo

Damned if you do, damned if you don't.

When the criticism gets to you

By Juliette IvyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I’m paralyzed, I don’t know what to do

Damned if I go left and damned if I go right

I’m stuck here trying not to ruffle feathers

I’m stuck here trying to find my truth

The truth is it hurts

It hurts when you cut me down and ridicule me

It hurts when you damn me for saying what I thought

But if it’s not you, it’s the other side

So I can’t win, I’m stuck out on a limb

Do you see how I’m paralyzed?

When I’m in limbo, I’m safe from the criticism

But I’m not living

When I make a move I’m stepping out into a world of missiles

Admit the way I feel and I’m too sensitive

Conceal it and I might just explode

I know I’m not the only one who crumbles inside when they’re rejected for their expression

So what do we do?

I feel like there’s nothing I could say or do that is ever free from someone else’s disapproval

I wish I didn’t care so much because that’s just another thing someone else will disagree to

but I’m living in a mental prison if I allow it to swallow me up and prevent my expression

To describe and open up about the way it feels is the only true outlet I have

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Juliette Ivy

Navigating the seas of a spiritual awakening and the journey of self actualization, I have many stories to tell. Mostly about what I find out when I dive into myself and uncover the root behind my pain.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.