Poets logo

Dame Judi Dench

A poem inspired by watching "Portrait Artist of the Decade" where Judi was sitting for a portrait

By Rachel DeemingPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
8
Dame Judi Dench
Photo by Alice Alinari on Unsplash

The figures of our life

That figure in our life

Are not always with us

But are about us.

*

There is something familiar

In your familiar face

That I can't imagine

It not being there.

*

I like the way you act;

I like the way you don't act.

There is comfort

Where you are, for me.

*

The picture is of Ophelia, not Judi Dench, but it represents one of her first acting roles, it being, of course, from Shakespeare's Hamlet.

Just a bit of whimsy from me on a Thursday night, with the fire lit and a cup of tea in tribute to a great actress.

Thanks for stopping by.

performance poetryinspirationalcelebrities
8

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart7 months ago

    Again, not big on celebrity worshipping, but Dame Judi is another stand-out exception. She is always so graceful, poised, but also incredibly down to earth. I saw her on Staged with Michael Sheen and David Tennant and love how she just gives herself to stuff and isn't afraid to have a joke at her expense where necessary. Also, used to love As Time Goes By growing up. Such a simple little sitcom but because her and her co-star were top rate actors, it made it exquisite viewing. Mrs Brown alongside The Big Yin Billy C was another I loved her in. She is also, like Miriam, quite hilarious on Graham Norton lol! Well done on this!

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    This is sweet! She sure is a gun! (This is a good term where I’m from). ;) Project to project with little slowing down! She is such a great actress. I’m a huge film buff, have not seen all her films as there are many but always enjoy her and in interviews too! Such a breath of fresh air and she makes me laugh too!

  • Whoaaaa! This was so profound and thought provoking! I had to read it a few times to take it all in! Loved this so much!

  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    RD ~ Speaking as an L.A. Resident: Dame Judi has such UnHollyWeird 'Grace.' I've always admired that about her. But, don't be in a hurry for "Old Age" - it's not all it's "Cheesed" up to be. JB

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Yeah. There are people who are just...comforting to enter our living rooms.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.