Poets logo

Damascene

An acrostic poem

By Gina C.Published 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 2 min read
33
Image created with Midjourney

Damascene--this stroll among the lilies, where

Impatiens temper restlessness of souls, like

Saffron—as the bitterness gives way to honey, and

The tiny buds of daydreams flower axioms, untold.

Raison d'être is a papillon-

(A butterfly, that is...) a

Chrysalis of worries remedied to nectared, powdered gold--

The pollen here is so ambrosial, the sweet

Impatiens lure me, like a honeybee, away from all the buzzing of my home.

Oh, to be a part of the Parhelia...or a cloud that knows the secrets of the universe (untold)--

Numinous beyond my understanding--damascene are all my daydreams--(pacified, as pollen turned to honey, are the) heartaches of my soul.

*

-Gina C. 🧚‍♀️✨

***

Author's Note: This poem is classified as a Signature Mini. ☺️

I keep trying to write another Petite, but *sigh*... I am just drawn to a certain lyricism that I can't seem to get away from (easily).

I did explore quite a bit with some new vocabulary here, so below are the definitions that have been borrowed from the Oxford Languages, Dictionary.com, and Merriam-Webster Online Dictionaries.

Remember -- there's no shame if you weren't already familiar with these words! I've just been on a mission to learn something new and to challenge myself lately. :)

damascene adjective

ˈda-mə-ˌsēn

used in reference to an important moment of insight, typically one that leads to a dramatic transformation of attitude or belief

impatien noun (not to be confused with "impatience")

a type of flower

axiom noun

a universally accepted principle or rule.

raison d'être noun

ˌrā-ˌzōⁿ-ˈde-trə

the most important reason or purpose for someone or something's existence.

papillon noun

this word refers to a type of dog in English, but in French, it means "butterfly", and that's how I intend it to be used here :)

parhelia noun

any of several bright spots often tinged with color that often appear on the parhelic circle on either side of the sun

numinous noun

1) filled with a sense of the presence of divinity 2) appealing to the higher emotions or to the aesthetic sense

If you'd like to check out other poems from my Signature Mini collection, try this:

This poem was written for the Dancing with Distraction Challenge. :)

***

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️

I'd be over the moon if we could support each other! I am an active member on the Vocal Discord Server, as well as the Vocal + Assist, Great Incantations, The Vocal Social Society, The Vocal Creators Lounge, and The Medium Writers and Vocal Creators Support Facebook groups. Posting your work there is the best way for me to support you! :) ❤️

nature poetry
33

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme☺️

Fueled by a conflicted soul of fire & water

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    These words are just extraordinary and honestly feels just refreshing to read. Love it ♥️

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    So ethereal and yet solidly sculpted. I truly hope this wins! Your use of the word "numinous" really speaks to me--I love reading ancient Roman literature and the Latin neuter noun "numen" is a very important concept in poetry and its expression of their their animistic view. It is the indwelling force or power within the deities and all living things and elements.

  • Aphotic11 months ago

    God, you’re such a poet. And almost every poem of yours teaches me a new word. Or several haha. Beautiful, beautiful.

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Lyrical and eloquent as always, Gina. Well done!

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Beautiful as ever and a bit of a language lesson too, thrown in for good measure. Love it, Gina! Well done!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Awesome!!! This is absolutely awesome, Gina C.!!!

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    I love your lyricism! 🥰❤️ and I’m always up for new-to-me words! 😁

  • Dana Stewart11 months ago

    Such a beautiful piece! Wow, I missed this one too! The ending of this one got me: Numinous beyond my understanding--damascene are all my daydreams--(pacified, as pollen turned to honey, are the) heartaches of my soul. Good gracious, that is large. Priceless. Exceptional work my friend!

  • Ward Norcutt11 months ago

    there are some very lovely images here, Gina.

  • Test11 months ago

    We really love this Gina. Amazingly written, and we cited it as a great example of contemporary poetry on Vocal in our article "Is is possible to enjoy poetry." Hope you don't mind.💙Anneliese

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    You have such a way with words. This was a mind-blowingly Beautiful piece Gina! Awesome work! :)

  • I kept misreading damascene as damnesence, no idea why! 😅 I don't even think that's a word, lol. Please still be my friend 😅 I did think that you somehow misspelled impatience, lol. So glad you provided all the meanings! It gave me damascene! Lol, see what I did there? 🤣 I'll leave now, bye!

  • I can’t top the incredible praise you’ve received, just glad to be able to agree and applaud

  • Cezanne Libellen11 months ago

    Love all the high vocab!!

  • These series of poems are breathtaking in scope. Simply beautiful Gina

  • Masterfully written. Once again Gina you have created such a beautiful aura with your perfectly placed chosen words. Great job!!!

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This right here "The tiny buds of daydreams flower axioms, untold." What a beautiful piece of writing. Incredible poetry, my friend.

  • sleepy drafts11 months ago

    Oh, this is so beautiful!! As always, there are just so many gorgeous lines I want to soak up! Stunning work, Gina! I always so look forward to your work 🥹❤️

  • Rob Angeli11 months ago

    Transformative. Excellent word choices.

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Your Inter-Intra- multi-extra- dimensiónal creation is a wonder! Your word mining is rich! 🥰

  • Veronica Coldiron11 months ago

    As always, your poems are so fluid and enchanting! I don't know how you do it, but it is so easy to get lost in the "seeing" of this that it's almost like the words aren't there. Very ethereal. Great poem!! 💖

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    You always put words together that takes our minds places only dreamt of. Your writing and thought processes are truly unique. And thanks for sparing me the need of a dictionary 😅 I knew what Parhelia referred to, so I was surprised when I saw the definition. I think Numinous is my favorite word of the day. Thank you, Gina, C, for sharing your work.

  • Excellent poetry and thank you for the information

  • Antoinette L Brey11 months ago

    Thanks for sharing the meaning of some of the words. Enjoyed the poem

  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    Gorgeous language, my inner word nerd is in love!! And this definitely had your beautiful, dreamy feel. Fantastic work, my friend :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.