Poets logo

Daily Comforts

Because adulting can be hard.

By Fiona Teddy-JimohPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Daily Comforts
Photo by Christie Kim on Unsplash

Saturday

By Kate Williams on Unsplash

Time is moving fast

So I'll stop and read a book

About other lives.

***

Sunday

By Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

I sit here with so much melancholy in my heart.

For the life of me Nancy I don't know why.

It’s not like anything particularly bad is happening but,

Nothing particularly good is happening either.

Is that why I feel this way?

Purr once for yes, twice for no...

Nevertheless, Nancy

There's always tomorrow.

Monday

By Alexander Popov on Unsplash

On Mondays I can have my old keys to tighten my old locks on my old chains that secure my old memories.

On Mondays I can have a new chance to turn over a new leaf and begin a new documentary with a new tone and a new topic.

On Mondays I can still be the same me, with the same job and the same life.

On Mondays I can have or be whatever I want and that's very comforting.

***

Tuesday

By Karen Cantú Q on Unsplash

The air feels cold against my cheeks.

I have my scarf wrapped twice over:

Boots on,

Gloves on,

Tightly buttoned coat and my latte cupped close to my heart.

Somewhere in the distance I can hear cars driving away.

I wonder what plans they have for the day?

And above me -

Clouds.

Like buttermilk soft and gently whipped

Against the sweet-smelling sky.

I can't help but smile,

For today I feel at peace.

***

Wednesday

By Alvin Mahmudov on Unsplash

I knew a girl called Wednesday.

She had eyes filled with woe.

Wherever woeful Wednesday went loneliness always followed.

Her hair was black, and her lips were red,

I kissed her once and then she fled,

I called her name: “Wednesday come back!”

She stopped and turned and then she said:

“You’re so very lovely, I know that much,

But in my heart we can never be,

I love another, that much is true...

I can never love you as much as he.”

☹️

Wednesday never knew how much those words hurt me

But I'll hang on to that kiss, my bittersweet memory.

***

Thursday

By Brooke Lark on Unsplash

I love chicken, I love cake,

I love biscuits and steak bakes.

I love tortillas, a yummy taste,

With some hummus as the paste.

I love pasta, I love pesto,

I love pittas, And potatoes.

I love croissant, I love pie,

I love ice cream,

Such a dream.

I love salmon, I love herring,

I love cod, I love sardine.

I love salads, and vegetables,

I love fruit, I love stews.

I love food in every way,

Every minute of every day.

When there’s food it lifts my mood,

So welcome flavours - it’s all good.

***

Friday

By Hanna Postova on Unsplash

On Fridays I’m dreaming

About the upcoming weekend.

The opportunities are exciting

It’s almost too much to comprehend.

Let's see...

Maybe some well-deserved 'me' time,

Or go and see some friends,

I could bake a cake,

Or watch tv,

Take a walk,

Shopping spree?

Maybe get some beauty sleep,

A woodland run and simply be,

I could buy my mates a round of drinks,

And simply skip the forty winks.

Yes.

Fridays are here for choosing,

A comforting guarantee,

I can be cruising, boozing, or snoozing

…After work, obviously.

***

heartbreaklove poemsperformance poetrysocial commentarylist
Like

About the Creator

Fiona Teddy-Jimoh

Finding innovative ways to connect creative writing with technology in order to deliver an immersive digital experience.

My name is Fiona Teddy-Jimoh and welcome to my world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Nessy Writerabout a year ago

    Love how this poem takes you on a journey. I can picture it so clearly especially the earlier stanzas.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.