Poets logo

Daddy's Girl

Shades of Similarity

By Misty RaePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
15

My skin,

Milky white and

Lightly peppered with freckles,

Paled next to his

Caramel hue.

My eyes,

Gray as steel,

Yet blue as ice,

Never matched his chocolate brown.

But still they come,

Remarking of something,

The stride in my step,

The tone of my words,

The unsettling gaze,

Warm and cold together,

Something,

Tells them that I am

Daddy’s girl.

love poems
15

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧5 months ago

    I am sure he is beaming with pride!

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    I never thought my dad was like my granddad but as my dad gets older, I see my granddad more and more and whilst I look like my dad, my husband says my posture and movement are his too which makes me really curious about how I move and how I look to other people. It messes with my mind! I liked your poem a lot.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.