Poets logo

Cut Down by Words

Words actually can hurt you 😔

By Moni SchexPublished about a year ago • 1 min read
Like
Cut Down by Words
Photo by USGS on Unsplash

I was told today that if I were a car, I’d be a Honda Accord, Civic at best.

And those words cut deep.

Reliable and trustworthy were the words used to soften the blow…

Maybe they noticed the blood from that fresh wound running from my face to my chest and beginning to leak.

Whomever said words can’t hurt you,

Obviously never encountered such saliva coated swords.

When I asked why couldn’t I be a Benz,

The reply was know your worth.

Benz’s are overpriced and over-glamorized

Everyone wants it but can’t afford it.

But you are always there when called no matter the hour,

An opportunity now, no one else will be afforded.

The co-signer in the back really made it worse

Laughing and carrying on

You’ve known me sir, I’m the biblical sense

So is that why you’ve kept me around this long.

To know me is to love me,

I had just started viewing myself as a prize.

But here I am again in my pit of self loathing,

And again, myself, I despise.

surreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Moni Schex

I write through my emotions. Each poem is an excerpt from the moment in time I’m existing in at the time of writing.

My short stories reflect past observances, insights, and imaginative reflections on situations.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.