Poets logo

Cupid promises!

A search for rekindling and renewal.

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
3
Cupid promises!
Photo by The New York Public Library on Unsplash

Where is that little imp Cupid hiding these days anyway

I have been searching high and low for the little rascal

My heart being sorely in need of a piercing love-struck arrow

For a rekindling of the dying embers of the heart's flames

I sent out into life an urgent missive in a wish

To enlist his arrows so straight and hopefully true

Aimed at my empty heart, which a boost could surely use

I do so wish he would put some clothes on though

It is rather disconcerting and eye averting

This ever gazing upon his utter nakedness

Which distracts from the urgent matter at hand

My heart, I think, may well benefit from a few

Rejuvenating and well aimed, passion-filled arrows

Every so often, I have the need for a

Renewal of those long forgotten feelings

Of childish innocent yearning and utter joy

Of seeing the world through eyes of new, or renewed love

Ushering in new hopes, new dreams, and promises

Of friendship, of life, of always being there for each other

No matter comes what may!

love poems
3

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    So beautiful and heart felt with a touch of whimsicalness! I love the way you chose to narrate this poem!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Charming work Novel! 😊 A very fun read! I'm searching 4 the little fella as well! I don't think he visits my town anymore! LOL 😁Hope u find him and that you & your soulmate have a long, blissful life together! Happy Tuesday! 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.