Poets logo

Crushes

short and sweet, aren't they?

By Jenna SediPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
1
Crushes
Photo by Vince Fleming on Unsplash

Jess...

You were the one.

Dark hair, wild eyes.

Curl upon curl upon your head.

A gold soul I held all at once and lost.

He has you now. I'm glad.

He's kind. And you were not mine.

.

Ally...

You were also the one.

Live mind, hive mind. Bird and bee and tree girl.

How I held you, one time. A trip to Indy. A show to see.

A life I hope but will not be.

You had and lost him as I knew you.

You need more than me.

.

Sav...

You led the line of love. You were the one, one.

My eyes love your hair. Sun in its own way.

Your eyes, sky blue, open wide.

We sang out in the wild, a hike of the past.

You stay home, I went far away. The next step.

Your wave is your own. A big one.

I told you that I love you.

You let me down easy.

I love you for that, too.

.

Zac...

An odd sort of love.

Year by year by year, it is true.

I can't ever have you. I know that.

But my mind will ache for you,

When I can not bear it.

I want to tell you, to put all I have

On the line.

But I can not bear it.

.

So,

For now, I am my own one.

And all

Who I meet are mine all at once and then lost.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Jenna Sedi

What I lack in serotonin I more than make up for in self-deprecating humor.

Zoo designer who's eyeballs need a hobby unrelated to computer work... so she writes on her laptop.

Passionate about conservation and sustainability.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.