Poets logo

Crumbs, Chambers, Castles

The Least

By Rowan Finley Published 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

The crumbs I stole were not worth the decades I lost in prison,

Finally I have risen,

From hanging on to those cold bars,

And wishing upon all those falling stars.

Now I stand,

On the other end of yet another reprimand,

Waiting for another sentence,

With just pretense.

Instead of receiving the iron fist,

I got the jist,

Of grace and impeccable mercy,

From this genuine clergy.

He gave to me what I had intended to steal,

Some kind of strange way, I now feel,

A jump start on a second chance,

At life, I could almost leap for joy and dance.

Redemption, will forever be my friend,

To others, I will always send,

Much humility,

Much cherity,

So that, they too, will yield a chance at such prosperity!

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.