Poets logo

Crowded Sea

I’m trapped in my ocean of loneliness in this crowded sea

By Britt Blomster Published 3 years ago 1 min read
22
Crowded Sea
Photo by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

I’m trapped in my ocean of loneliness in this crowded sea

Familiar faces encircle me as the room swells with glee

Surrounded by expired conversation and stale stories

Everyone jostles for their turn to share their glories

No one is listening, only waiting for their turn to speak

As if what they have to share is important and unique

Alien on these foreign shores, I find myself adrift

Without winds of change, nothing will ever shift

They see me as a friend. I see myself as a stranger they know by name.

Does anyone pay attention? Do they notice I’m no longer the same?

Loneliness is my longest friend, with a visit that never seems to end

Waves of emotions crash into me as I feel everything in this amity sea

Pieces of me, memories, captured in the grains of sand,

I try to hold them tight, but they sift through my hand.

social commentary
22

About the Creator

Britt Blomster

I'm a writer, poet, storyteller and dreamer. I'm inspired by the world around me and channel that into my writing.

Blog:

Facebook

Instagram

Medium

E-mail: [email protected]

My Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.