Poets logo

Crosstown Seafood Dirge

I couldn't tell you exactly where this happened?

By Brenton FPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Carp with Ant(s)

i wanna squeeze the foam

off the seventh wave

i wanna count

every second drop

but i’m a fuckin squid

more tentacles

than testicles

i wish to wake clear of head

and light of heart

in order to begin again to win again

not so fresh but a place to start

but i’m a fuckin plankton

i exist

to get stuck

in a whales tooth

i have the power

to alter this hour

i wanna be

the change i wanna see

but i’m a fuckin jellyfish

i am merely a guest

of this tide

i just wanna relax

let all my guards down for a mo’

take it tight and take it easy

mix the fast with slow

but i’m a fuckin lobster as well

damn my legs look good

- i may very well be the fish that John West rejected

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    John west lol! Good work! 😊👏

  • I don't know why everyone's laughing. This felt so sad to me and tragic.

  • Gerald Holmes8 months ago

    I loved this in so many ways. You made me laugh and made me think deeply at the same time. Very well done.

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    But tentacles can grasp and plankton can make of break the whale in large enough numbers. Jellyfish can sting, and lobster are armour tough.

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Uhm...lol. This was so odd, but so you and so funny too. "but i’m a fuckin squid more tentacles than testicles" lol, genius. Just, sorry for laughing so much...I really hope I've not offended but that line is just brilliant. The whole damn thing is. Love the theme running through it!

Brenton FWritten by Brenton F

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.