Poets logo

Bored Amusement?

"...this is the dog talking!" Frank Zappa

By Brenton FPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
© Dana Sewell 2017

don’t throw that stick too far

i may not fetch it

i will glare at you

with slumber lidded eyes

and in this act of pure defiance

i have torn asunder

this delicate contract

we forged

when you and i

were so much younger

oh well...woof woof!

don’t call me late for dinner

don’t call me late for lunch

don’t call me if you have the slightest inkling

of the remotest faintest hunch

none of this is beneath any of our notice

don’t call me if you have an itch

and you think i need a scratch

don’t even think about throwing that ball

you know i won’t chase or catch

i don’t want your stupid tug toy

or the ball machine that shoots

but if you leave them out one night

i will definitely eat your boots

call me suppers cessation

as you release your belt a hole

appetites' sated

we assume our normal role

patting the seat

you beckon me to join you

and we slide

side by side

into the couch

i sleep and dream and twitch and fart

as you watch your stupid shows

my jowls on your leg

the light of the fire softly glows

the evening becomes night

the fire slowly dies

the wind whispers

cold and cruel

in and around the eaves

don’t call me to your lap early evening

only to fling me out the door at bedtime

there’s plenty of room for all of us

please don’t put me out in the cold

.

.

This is for all the lost dogs, sick dogs, hungry dogs, homeless dogs and

social commentarynature poetry

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Too many of them out there. I'd bring 'em all in if I could. Well writ!

  • Paul Stewart8 months ago

    Dammit, mate. This started off quite funny and charming and then that last section really hit home some hard to hear, but necessary truths! Brilliant work!

  • This ripped my heart out of my chest! 🥺 Thank you so much for writing about this!

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Loved this! Excellent msg and feelings captured! “Watch your stupid shows” lol. Great work Brenton.

  • Matthew Fromm8 months ago

    Anddddd off to pet my pooch.

  • Andrew C McDonald8 months ago

    I know that dog. He definitely lives with me. Needs a touch of cattitude. 😊

Brenton FWritten by Brenton F

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.