Poets logo

Crazy Tiem

a constant tick

By Brenton FPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
8

you made me question

the state of my mental health

when it was you

that was crazy all along

you knew that tune

wasn’t good for me

and so you played

the same old song

you made me question

the very fabric

that was the bedrock

of my existence

and now this

partially shattered sanity

cause yeah

it fuckin mattered to me

but not now

now

i don’t know

anymore

i try not to show

i know i won’t care

i hope i don’t feel

i don’t want to dare

so now

i don’t know

anymore

bleating and bleeding

wanting and needing

yeah and now

i don’t know

anymore

it’s a buzz in my ear

my dour my cheer

the taste of my fear

it’s why i’m still here

and that is still why

i let it assume me

and that is still why

i let it consume me

i let these dizzy circles

spin on their own

a flurry of senseless

poorly aimed enthusiasm

slows to backwards

in reverse

and then

this is not

anything

that i know

anymore

sad poetrysurreal poetry
8

About the Creator

Brenton F

It's just a token of my extreme - Frank Zappa

- - -

I have an eBook, a collection of my favourite pieces

Link to Amazon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dee Dee Farrrrk5 months ago

    This would go really well to "Waves of Fear" by Lou Reed.

  • Rowan Finley 9 months ago

    This one is all too familiar for me.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    It's sad!! A gaslighter can destroy a person. Don't walk run!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Sadly, that's what a narcissist and a gaslighter do to us and our mental health. Loved your poem!

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    "bleating and bleeding, Wanting and needing" Superb power and feeling, so intensely human. I just learned that the term "gaslighting" originally means a form of psychological manipulation whereby you deliberately induce insanity, and it comes from the title of an old 40's film.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.