Poets logo

Crash

poetry for the healing heart.

By Ambi AmbitionPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Crash
Photo by Anandaram G on Unsplash

I felt the collision instantaneously,

The ringing in my ears the only sound.

As the debris of the life I once knew fell around me,

My mind, too, was scattered,

as I lay motionless on the ground.

I wonder how I got here,

The road felt so distant.

My vision obscured by fear,

I tried so hard to listen.

Faintly, I heard the vultures calling.

Bleeding too much to heal,

I became prey for the cold hearted.

All that was left of me,

Became theirs to steal.

As the dust cleared from my eyes,

I noticed my surroundings,

Had I done this to myself?

There was no one else around me.

Not a soul to feel the tears,

Or try to calm the screams,

To see I’d been running from a nightmare,

But the nightmare was really me.

So I let the vultures come,

I endured each piercing strike.

One last time to feel the pain,

And way too tired to fight.

But then something strange came over me,

As my mind went astray,

Was it even possible?

All I could see was flames.

I don’t remember reaching for the match,

But the fire shone so bright,

And while my enemies vanished,

I never felt more alive.

I found the strength to stand,

To see clearly,

And to feel.

The damage casted upon me,

Was mine alone to heal.

And so the best anyone can really do is venture forward,

No more feeding the past backward glances.

And if you must,

Crash.

Burn.

And then,

Rise from the ashes.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Ambi Ambition

Advice, motivation, and ambition with a side of poetry to guide you through love and life.

Follow my movement on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram #ambiambition

10% of tips will be donated to Mental Health America (:

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.