Poets logo

Coup de Tarte

Part 1 - Just Desserts

By Mr. Cake Published 2 months ago 6 min read
1

Coup De Tarte -

Part I - Just Desserts

As above, so below

Many cakes are here *

In this cake show

Adorned from high

Glares they glean

All creations

Adore their sheen

All are picked

Some are stowed

Many come

Many go

But they aren't alone

In this place

Pastries, Pies

And cookies wait

Some come hot

Some come cold

All together

In each one's mold

As time flies

Above, below

When it comes

No one knows

Just another hand

Through the sweep

Where it lands

Is when they meet

[Enter Mestuffstoplease]

I have come today

To make anew

Everything that's wrought

Has become attuned

For such a creator

His tastes are boring

It's time to jelly up

His cakey story

[Enter Chef]

I can hear your desire

And I know you're right

So, if you jelly

Just one, just right

I'll let you boast

With brazen breast

And claim that cake

As the Caker's best

[Mestuffstoplease]

What a prize

You know me well

I will make a pie

From a cakey shell

Thus, it will be

His loss, my plight

I'll show the Caker

The Pieman's might

[Chef]

You know my venue

From front to back

You know my stores

The delicacies I stack

Tell me Mestuffstoplease

Why do you bother

To choose a cake

With all I offer

[Mestuffstoplease]

Cookies are the future

But the past repeats

Just look at the cupcakes

And their toppings replete

So if I can jelly just one good cake *

Before the tide starts turning

I'll set a precedent to compete

And jelly what trend is occurring *

[Chef]

I know your knowledge

And the craft you hone

What do you have in mind

For the cake-pie show?

[Mestuffstoplease]

I'll claim the Cream Cake

For my speedy venture

He's known to be plain

With grandeurs of splendor

[Chef]

An interesting choice

Though I doubt that you'll woo him

His seams will remain

Regardless what moves them

Nevertheless

I bid you good speed

But next time that we meet

You'll be in-service to me

But if you succeed

Though I doubt that you will

You'll have free reign as you please

With the desserts that you'll fill

[Mestuffstoplease]

Deal

[Exit]

On shelf sixteen

Cream Cake awaits

He's in a daydream

Adorning his plate

[Enter Mestuffstoplease]

[Swoops]

[Cream Cake]

Am I hallucinating

What is this that I'm seeing

My time has apparently come

The cakes are all fleeting

[Mestuffstoplease]

Relax good cake

I know that you're nervous

But I'll set you on high

Beyond these cakes that are worth less

You'll come to like me

For I have what you're missing

I'll double your size

And endow you with blessings

[Cream Cake]

Are you legion or legend

Your garb is mysterious

You're sightly and sound

But your look is quite curious

[Mestuffstoplease]

I am but a humble servant

Who's come to set a wrong right

For your surface is lacking

And there's no jelly in sight

[Cream Cake]

I have no use for jelly

But I could use some candles

For greater heights to daydream

About The Spirit of Cake Channel

[Mestuffstoplease]

It's good to have high hopes

But never lose what's at stake

You'll want to look deep within

To see what you're lacking in taste

[Cream Cake]

My cake is quite common

And common's what sells

Just enrich me with candles

And some sparkly sprinkles

[Mestuffstoplease]

I was mistaken

Let me clarify my position

I am not just a servant

But a man on a mission

You see I work in the kitchen

I am the man who has vision

I believe that tangy is the way

Beyond the subtle taste you've been given

But if you do prefer the sweet

There are many flavors you can be

But enough with all that cream

No one likes redundancy

[Cream Cake]

I've never heard of this jelly

But this is a strange place

There are many about

And not all have the same face

But why should I change

When I just want to see more

To admit foreign jelly

Could be all I abhor

[Mestuffstoplease]

Jelly is the way

It's the new era for cakes

You'll be better than pies

or any cake on display

So, what do you say

Will you let me underneath

To let me deep inside

And jelly where I please

[Cream Cake]

You are too kind *

Perhaps you can have a peak

And tell me what you find *

Then we'll decide what's to be *

[Mestuffstoplease]

Very well

Let's take a close peep

But to see what I can't

I'll have to dig a bit deep...

As I expected

Three layers of vanilla cream

Your maker left you barren

How he forsakes his delicacies

[Cream Cake]

I always knew I was lacking

Something deep inside

Perhaps why I daydream

Of things he failed to provide

[Mestuffstoplease]

It's not his fault

Not all bakers are brilliant

But that's why we make pies

For their filling's resilience

Now, let's take out all this junk

I'll fill you with jelly abound

We will find you your cake love

For jelly's attraction is renowned

[Cream Cake]

You devil!

You're the Pieman in disguise

That's why you're so keen

To remove and jelly my insides

[Mestuffstoplease]

You jest too much

I would never dare

To claim such renowned

Nor the Pieman's fare

I am just a faithful servant

Seeking just desserts

To show them what they're missing

To improve their own self-worth

And you good sir you take the cake

Just as plain as plain can be

How you sit there patiently

And daydream your dreams relentlessly

I will bring you toppers

That toppings can't beat

HBD Birthday Luxury Candles

With Cinnamon Buttercream

And 12-inch glitter-dipped candles

That everyone will stop to see

We will set the wrongs right good cake

Just believe you and me

[Cream Cake]

I should have known

There's only so many in His kitchen

And though I've only heard of you in passing

I was wise enough to pay attention

You make your crustations

Some hot and some cold

But they never really grow

Trapped inside your pie molds

And I bet you seethe with jealousy

For the great Caker owns the show

He's in every window scene

While your pies are all alone

[Mestuffstoplease]

Pies are not so bad

In fact pies can be quite fun

And I think you'd be surprised

By what you both have in common

[Cream Cake]

That's good and well sir

But I believe that's called a red herring *

The issue at hand is your jelly

And your desirous dubious pairing

Besides, I do not know if I'll like it *

What it could do to my seams

So I think I'll stay original

Instead of seeking the unique

[Mestuffstoplease]

Your originality is subcreation

From past patterns that he's seen

You are as original as a cookie cutout

Every great artist ends up a thief

Since your cake has been determined

Your only way to masterpiece

Is through the decluttering principle of feng shui

And then reconsider what could be

[Cream Cake]

Gobbledygook

I do not know what all that means

But I know one thing for certain

It is you who are the thief

[Mestuffstoplease]

I come bearing gifts

And good-hearted tips

I offer candles, jelly, and sprinkles

And this is what I get

I did not have to choose you

There are many in this place

But I thought you would appreciate

What I can offer you in taste

[Cream Cake]

Just ornament me with sprinkles

And those candles that you mentioned

And put my layers back as you found them

That will conclude your cakey blessing

[Mestuffstoplease]

I will fulfill your cake dream

But you leave me no choice

I will fondant you at the seams

Not every cake deserves a voice

[Jellies in cake with piping bag]

[Cream Cake]

You have jellied in my cream

My god what have you done

I might have to live with your deed

But you will never shut me up

[Mestuffstoplease]

You can mumble like the muffins

You can create yourself cake braille

But that will take a while to figure

Long after your cake has staled

Remember the jelly deep inside

And know that now you are enough

Thus, you will serve as the paradigm

Of the Pieman's cakey love

[Mestuffstoplease applies fondant and finishing touches]

humorFor FunCONTENT WARNING
1

About the Creator

Mr. Cake

I write uninhibited. I only care about the quality of expression, not if you think it's appropriate or not. My goal is to make you laugh. I hope you enjoy what you read.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.