Poets logo

Coup de Tarte

Part 2 - The Cake-Pie Compromise

By Mr. Cake Published 2 months ago 6 min read
Like

From the star

His jelly streamed

Until the cake

No longer screamed

Just some whispers

Then just a peep

Until the fondant

Sealed the seams

Then came toppings

As he promised

For he's not a liar

He's just not honest

For that's the way

The Pieman sees it

They're not whole goods

They're just their pieces

In the silence

He sits and waits

All alone

He contemplates

He doesn't know

If it's enough

To sway the Chef

Towards cake-pie love

[Enter Chef]

Good morning Mestuffstoplease

Were you successful with your venture

Did you convince him of your bidding

And your promise of cake-pie splendor

[Mestuffstoplease]

It took a little bit of prodding

But he finally saw the promise

In adopting some pie jelly

And his new cake-pie personage

[Chef]

Why did you fondant him

I wanted to ask questions

Like what it means to be a cake-pie

And if there are any cake-pie lessons

[Mestuffstoplease]

I apologize

I only thought about his fate

It will be a while until he dries

Perhaps we should just sit and wait

[Chef]

Where did you find him

Perhaps that will reveal his plight

For every whole good only knows

What every whole good has in sight

[Mestuffstoplease]

Sixteen

Section C

[Chef]

Sweet sixteen

Cut off from reality

The things that he must think

Only having access to TV

Still, there are other cakes all around

Certainly he knows the truth

What was once lost can still be found...

Mestuffstoplease

Did you give him quite the scare

I know how you use your humor

I've never met a pie that's unprepared

[Mestuffstoplease]

Contrary to your belief

I have learned the art of delicacy

I thank the Caker and his ways

It seems he's finally rubbed off on me

[Chef]

I'm sure that took a lot

Just know that I am grateful

It will be a pleasurable sight to see

When he tries a cake-pie sample

You know it's been a while

Since I've last seen him smile

I fear that he's just become too bored

So I'm hoping this cake-pie will burn inside

And reignite him at the core

[Mestuffstoplease]

I'm sure he will love it

After all, Chef knows best

But do you think that he can stomach

My cake-pie's jelly

Or the swelling of my breast

[Chef]

He can spit or he can swallow

All that matters is the taste

His feelings we should hurt

For what truly matters are his plates

[Mestuffstoplease]

His feelings might lead to fury

And cakes are made with love

If you want I could start early

For his reserves won't be enough

[Chef]

You're always thinking about the future

Sometimes you make me wonder

What ideas you have in mind

Should you steal the Caker's thunder

[Mestuffstoplease]

You know

I hardly think about it

I just want to love what I do

And keep my pie creations honest

Where would they be without my goo

After all

They're only here for so long

Maybe one day we can freeze some

And see what happens when they thaw...

Come to think of it

I have a few more thoughts in-mind

Maybe we can run some experiments

For the greater glory of their kind

[Chef]

Mestuffstoplease

If only the Caker had your zeal

I think he takes the window scene for granted

For no one else has cake appeal

[Mestufftoplease]

Well

Maybe soon that could all change

For if you like the taste of cake-pie

Maybe cake-pie can be the new thing...

[Enter Via]

[Via]

Good morning Chef...

Pieman

What's the occasion

What do you have on-hand

[Mestuffstoplease]

It's a celebration

A new creation in cake

I've taken one of your kind

And jellied him beneath the paste

[Via]

What pieversity!

I should have trusted my suspicion

For you're always looking at my cakes

And you're rarely ever in the kitchen

[Mestuffstoplease]

As they say

Every artist needs inspiration

I had to see them for myself

And how they act when we've been missing

[Via]

It's only one cake

All is fine and all is well

But you know what to do Chef

Send this schemer back to hell

[Chef]

Sorry Via

But I found merit in his task

For though you make your cakes all different

There remains some semblance of the past

[Via]

How dare you

Every cake I make is brilliant

In fact they're too unique to ever last

Why don't you just stick to menu creation

And how best to serve corned beef and hash

[Mestuffstoplease]

I knew he would act this way Chef

He's not one for self-reflection

But at least now we've cleared the way

With this one of many cake-pie inventions

[Chef]

Enough Mestuffstoplease

We still don't know if it yields promise

This will still take a while to dry

Can anyone think of a cake-pie sonnet

[Via]

Chef that's blasphemy

This is not a time for jokes

And what of all these candles we see

Clearly some bribe or hoax

[Mestuffstoplease]

I had to make up for what he lacked

His maker left him in quite the position

He could not see the blessings I could otherwise bestow

With his mind clouded with sparkles and candlelight visions

[Via]

Where did you find him

What shelf and in what section

[Mestuffstoplease]

Shelf sixteen

The Cream Cake

Right in front of the TV

[Via]

Therein lies the answer

Never a cake meant for the mantle

For all he's seen is MTV

And the Spirit of Cake Channel

[Chef]

Indeed

At that height

He must have only heard some of our clamor

Saturated gossip from his fellow treats

And celebrated teens that are always hammered

[Mestuffstoplease]

Yes, I could have picked a better cake

But I needed the power of belief

For the decision that he'd have to make

[Chef]

A hard lesson learned Via

For every virtue has more than one vice

You dress some cakes so splendidly

And some you have deprived

[Via]

I apologize

I do believe that you are right

The key to caking is balance

And controlling what they have in sight

[Chef]

Very well

How do you want to adjourn

We can give this cake-pie a window seat

Or let it dry out in the store

[Via]

It does not sit well with me

I do not see an either/or

But I must give it to Mestuffstoplease

He went more than overboard

[Chef]

I agree

So we will arouse customer anticipation

And bless this cake-pie with a window seat

Before it's big serving-day examination

[Mestuffstoplease]

Thank you Chef...and Caker

I always appreciate your candor

I think my pies could use some of your cream

And even some of your cakey stature ...

[Chef]

What say you Via

Are you truly seeking the unique

Or will you do what you've always done

And hide behind your cake supremacy

[Via]

I will not jelly my plates

But I will cream his

For I believe in my cakes

And their inherent greatness

[Via exits ]

[Mestuffstoplease]

Chef, one more thing

While the Caker improves my pies

Perhaps I could jelly some of the cakes

It could be interesting what we'll find

[Chef]

Yes, but this time no fondant

And make sure the Caker can't make excuses

For your future cake-pie persuasions

Can't rely on the Caker's abuses

humorFor FunCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

Mr. Cake

I write uninhibited. I only care about the quality of expression, not if you think it's appropriate or not. My goal is to make you laugh. I hope you enjoy what you read.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.