Poets logo

Cosmetology

Or Dermatology

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
5
Cosmetology
Photo by Atikah Akhtar on Unsplash

dermatology

why not cosmetology

alopecia

and rosacea

way different than

each other, woman

makeup and hair dye, not

the antibiotics, scalp injections I got

not this time, it was a look at my itch

and rash, and talk of what I can increase and which

medicine and shampoo I can try this time and hitch

up my britches and be a big girl it isn't cancer after all

or is it, I always think it might be and all she says to the wall

is doesn't look like it! We went to Big Fork from home

and ended up in Northhome

how did that happen? Was it me

or was it he?

It was supposed to be closer

not farther

oh well

what the hell

what else do we have to do

we are retired, and not tired and due

for some new experiences

after all we won't be going to any séances

although, I just might someday

why not, I have had my fortune told and hey

I had a few other things but maybe another day.

Okay, I may be all over the place here

I love makeup and never wear any when going there

to dermatology, as they want to take a close look at

all the bumps and lumps, the imperfections that

makeup covers up, and before I leave there I put my face back on

I'm not going another place without my face on mon

I like mon, for man

can you tell? I have used it twice this week

okay, here I go again, I'm off on another subject I squeek

come back to where I am meant to be

cosmetology and dermatology and she,

my doctor has many years of education

and the other has months to years of dedication

to learning all about people, faces, hair and cosmetics

and some go to school for massage and esthetics

it is time to do the other this week, as I can use a little esthetician

work on my hairy chin

That is what happens when you age

and I am not a sage

I see it on some friends and they have no idea it is there

as their eyes are failing too, due to age, not fair.

sometimes I will say something

and other times, not a thing

as sometimes I want to hear

and other times I want to pretend I am all clear!

Oh me, we are all clear, and you too Dear!

performance poetry
5

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.