Poets logo

Control it.

Poem about a brief encounter with an ex

By Robin Jessie-GreenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Control it.
Photo by Devin Berko on Unsplash

Oh my Gosh! Oh my Gosh! Oh my Gosh!

It's him coming in

Control it. Control it. Control it.

Did he see me?

Does he see me?

He sees me! He sees me!

Oh, shoot! Okay. Okay.

Control it. Control it. Control it.

"Hey, Lady."

"Hey, You."

"What's going on?"

"Nothing much. What's happening with you?"

Oh my God, it's been too long.

Control it. Control it. Control it.

"Just kickin' it. Didn't know you came here too."

"Yeah, just decided to meet some friends."

"Hangin' out with your all girl crew?"

He winks his eye. He smiles his smile. My panties melt.

For a split second my mind teleported me back to the last time I felt…

Control it. Control it. Control it.

"Hey, Girl! We're over here!" My saving grace.

"Oh Okay! I'll be right there!" I cannot remain in this place.

"You look soooo….goooood." His voice was guttural and lingering.

"Thanks, so do you!" And he did too! Wheew-wee, yes indeedy!

"Maybe we should---"

(Uh-oh) "Gotta go!"

Control it. Control it. Control it.

I turned to go, everything moving in slow-mo

Clinching my bootie cheeks to minimize their jiggle

But my hips remembered him all too well and began to swivel

I could not make a fast enough getaway

As my rear sashayed and swayed

In my red satin party dress

He whispered under his breath

The last thing I'd ever hear him say,

"Control it. Control it. Control it."

Ha! I'm glad I didn't stay.

If you’d like to see more from me, kindly give a coin of encouragement.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Robin Jessie-Green

Temple University BA and AIU Online MBA Alumna.

Content Contributor for Medium, eHow, Examiner, Experts123, AnswerBag, Medicine-guides.com and various other sites spanning a decade.

Visit my Writing Portfolio to see what else I've written.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.