Poets logo

Conflicted

the best poem about me

By Tamama KhanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Conflicted
Photo by Kat Love on Unsplash

I am different, I am the same as everyone else.

Feeble whilst invincible, exquisite though hideous, vibrant yet listless.

How could that be? Believe me I'd love to know.

Soulful although villainous, sagacious but idiotic, squalid and pure.

More and more and also a bit more...

Sincere and misleading. Rebellious and hopeless. Tender and harsh.

A whole lacking ambivalence.

I knew best to stay unknown from the slyness.

But I didn't.

I lost in order to gain, and gained to sorrow over my hazy colors.

Grasping on the black that was left for me.

Striving lustfully to give up on sins, I danced alone and tripped over forgotten crowds.

I said, “Hello, and goodbye.”

I lived to love, and then loved to die.

My best companion, my worst foe, is no one else but me.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.