Poets logo

Confined Solitary

Random Poem-Thoughts

By Maivyn R.Published 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
Confined Solitary
Photo by Luke Leung on Unsplash

I feel alone.

Holiday cheer is spreading like the variant of Covid-19.

It's hard to agree with the mass on being happy when my thoughts give way to guarding my life and my children's safety

precautions from healthy individuals with no pre-existing conditions,

who says no to the vaccinations

I understand - they have a choice.

I do too.

But must we continue to celebrate as though no one is dying in the hospitals,

where nurses and doctors are overworked

tirelessly to care for those who might not make it tomorrow?

Where does this balance begin and end?

Tell me the parallels between guilt and conscience.

How do tears and joy co-exist?

We are a collective.

But

I feel alone.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Maivyn R.

Maivyn received her B.A. in Creative Writing five years ago & recently submitted a short story, which was denied and flagged. Seems that she's using AI.

Maivyn is feeling conflicted because she's only putting her degree to use.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.