Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Concepting Consciousness

A poem I wrote for a workshop in 2018.

By Ashley LimaPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Concepting Consciousness
Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

The pain and pressure are enough to keep me here,

But the idea of what’s going to happen next...

The fear of the unknown;

I find myself slipping away.

Will I be good enough?

Will I be able to provide proficiently?

The room is full of people

But I might as well be by myself.

I can hear the machines,

Monitoring my heartbeat.

Their heartbeat.

I can hear this heartbeat loud in my ears.

The cold hands of the doctors press on my swollen stomach,

And they move inside me in search of life.

“You’re doing great,” they tell me.

I don’t feel too great.

The pain is coming in waves,

Taking me off to sea.

I’m floating in the waters of my own blood,

My hospital gown, stained, gruesomely beautiful,

Flowing fabric through this warm liquid.

“Don’t forget to breathe”.

How can I breathe when all I want to do is scream?

The water I’m floating on starts to drain,

It feels as though I’m falling through the abyss.

Pushing, and screaming, my vision is blurry.

There’s a drain at the bottom of this sea -

The water empties through it.

The closer I’m getting to my destination,

The more real this all becomes.

I don’t know if I’m ready.

How am I supposed to fit through?

The lights in the hospital room are blinding,

And a ring of fire is moving through my lower half.

For the first time, I reach out and grab your hand,

Remembering where I am.

I close my eyes and feel your energy move through me,

Giving me the strength I need to finish the task.

I push through,

A baby cries,

And suddenly, I’m not drowning anymore.

___________________________________________

I've decided to look back at my old work to see how I've grown as a writer over the years. I wrote this poem in 2018 for a poetry workshop and it became a part of a 10-piece collection for my final exam.

I was pregnant when I wrote this piece, and nobody in my class knew. I was keeping it a secret from everyone, and only ever ended up telling my professors during the spring semester when I was due (because I was going to be out for labor just before final exams! LOL).

I had a very difficult pregnancy and a very real fear of labor. Looking back, writing this was a way for me to talk about my fears and come out with a positive ending. It's a little bit funny to me now because my labor was much worse than I could have ever anticipated, but hey, what can you do?

When I wrote this piece, I was a 21-year-old without a clue in the world. My child is 4 now, he's smart as a tack, and his entrance into this world was much more dramatic than anything I ever could have written.

I hope you enjoyed this trip down memory lane with me, thank you for reading!

surreal poetryperformance poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Sid Aaron Hirji12 months ago

    This was great.

  • Joe Luca12 months ago

    This piece locks onto the emotions of the experience and I felt it all the way through. Really good.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Ashley, this piece is hauntingly beautiful. Your vernacular and turn of phrase is very jarring and yet eye catching. I love your descriptive language in which you play on the sense of the reader while creating vivid imagery with the use of metaphor. I find some of the language gruesome and yet still very elegantly phrased. I also appreciate the authors note you included at the end giving us some context and sharing a piece of yourself with us. Thank you for being brave enough to share part of your story and your talent!

  • Gerald Holmesabout a year ago

    This released all kinds of emotion in me and brought me back to when my daughter was born. Very well done.

  • Rob Angeliabout a year ago

    Intense. Unsparing realism on the biological and sensory plane: but very poetic. Well done!

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    This was really powerful, Ashley. Sorry you had such a horrific experience with pregnancy and labour. Glad things are better for you now. Great poem - brutally honest and heartfelt!

  • Profound - Great Piece❤️😉📝❗

Ashley LimaWritten by Ashley Lima

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.