Poets logo

¿Cómo se siente?

And other questions I am afraid to ask my father

By Prairie JohnsonPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
First Place in Abecedarian Challenge
66
¿Cómo se siente?
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

Amen, says the Christian, a good man, my father,

Before his bastard

Child was born, wedlock wrapped around my waist like a

Dark horse’s toothsome restraint.

Entitled to only your ethereal words through postcards and candy, tell me, do you

Flinch when you see me now? Does your identity

Glitch when your second child reveals any piece of

Herself to you? Do you see anything of yourself

In me, or am I just my mother’s baby, a

Johnson, not quite a Gonzales? Never mind the

Kaleidoscope of your epigenetics, written like a story on my DNA,

Lessons to be learned, pain to be felt, colors to be seen.

My memories are yours, but somehow you are not among them. My

Numbered fingers can display how many times I’ve seen you. Does my

Obstinance toward authority disturb you? Or does it reassure you that your

Parenting wouldn’t have stood a chance anyway? That my

Questions would have out-answered your responses, and my

Relentlessness would have calcified your standards into stalactites.

Self-sown by seed, and estranged from you unwittingly, do you wish you could know me?

Truthfully, when we first met, did you regret every moment of your existence

Untouched by my hands and feet and laugh? Have you unraveled the grief,

Ventured into the galaxy of what we could not have? Do you

Wonder, “What made her wise?” when you look into my eyes? Do you see the

Xylophone of my heart, each key tied to strings strung back to where

You could have been? I hope you wish you could have watched my journey from

Zygote in womb, to daughter to dreamer, child to woman.

sad poetryheartbreakFamily
66

About the Creator

Prairie Johnson

If we are going to transform the world, we must begin with ourselves. I write what is inside of me so that you might find what is inside of you.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (43)

Sign in to comment
  • Ava Mack2 months ago

    Stunning, Prairie! Every line in this poem is incredible in its own way but these lines in particular jumped right out at me: "does it reassure you that your Parenting wouldn’t have stood a chance anyway? That my Questions would have out-answered your responses, and my Relentlessness would have calcified your standards into stalactites." Congrats on your win!

  • Norreida Reyes2 months ago

    As a Mhyre and a Reyes (who I didn't meet until I was 22 years old), I felt every word in my blood. Thank you for sharing. Well done, congratulations! 👏

  • Natalie Wilkinson2 months ago

    Congratulations Prairie!

  • Kelly Dickerson3 months ago

    Outstanding !!!

  • Rachel M.J3 months ago

    This is gorgeous, and the last sentence is genius. This line in particular wowed me, "Never mind the Kaleidoscope of your epigenetics, written like a story on my DNA," Such a stunning way to describe the depth of someone's impact.

  • Pamela Walsh-Holte3 months ago

    Poignant and raw and beautifully written

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Ok, fair dos, no wonder this won. Outstanding.

  • Harbor Benassa3 months ago

    This is beautiful! Congratulations on your win.

  • you pulled my heartstrings -- gerat work

  • Melissa Ingoldsby3 months ago

    Incredible work and you deserve all your love and attention for this outstanding masterpiece of poignancy and intensity

  • A. Lenae3 months ago

    This is mesmerizing and full of truth and intimacies that are spellbinding. Your strong lyrical revelations and ponderings are so powerful - this read like it all spilled from your mouth. Beautiful writing, and so deserving of the win. Congratulations!

  • Evoking is the word that comes to mind with this. Evoking thoughts, emotions, images, memories. Brilliant work

  • Geoffrey Philp 3 months ago

    I never thought an abecedarian poem could be so emotionally moving! Thank you, Prairie, for this wonder-full poem and for opening my eyes to the range of this form.

  • D. J. Reddall3 months ago

    A special eloquence emerges when candor and anger are combined. Your poem is powerful!

  • Tracy Kreuzburg 3 months ago

    A sad but beautiful poem. You use lovely imagery to talk about painful feelings, and this demonstrates great skill. Wonderful job. Congratulations 🎊

  • Christy Munson3 months ago

    Congratulations, Prairie Johnson! Beautifully written piece!

  • Sean Elliott3 months ago

    Wow, this is amazing!! Congratulations on a very well deserved win! The abecedarian format fits seamlessly with the emotion of this piece. I honestly forgot that it was an abecedarian as I was reading, which to me makes it all the more well crafted and powerful.

  • D.K. Shepard3 months ago

    So raw and full of pain, yet so beautifully written! Congrats’

  • J. R. Lowe3 months ago

    Absolutely stunning, congratulations! This is a really beautiful piece 🥲👏

  • F Cade Swanson3 months ago

    powerful!

  • Phil Flannery3 months ago

    Congratulations

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    Well deserved win!!!

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    Well done!

  • PK Colleran3 months ago

    Powerful storytelling. Masterfully told. Congratulations, well done. 💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.